Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Proper command for DISM to clean it up?

    Ive got 13 gigs in my winsxs folder ?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 879 Times in 841 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jagworld View Post
    Ive got 13 gigs in my winsxs folder ?
    You can run Disk Cleanup as an admininstrator to clean up the Winsxs folder.

    Go Start - type disk cleanup - right click on Disk Cleanup and select Run as administrator.

    While you can select other bits for it to delete, the default checked boxes are sufficient.

    I run this after each month's Windows Updates in Win 7 HP.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    CCleaner does what I thought was a good job (and it is good at what ever files it uses) but there's still 13 gigs in this folder.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    The files are not classified as temporary so CC won't touch them. You need Windows to do that clean up work.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    How to reduce the size of your Winsxs folder:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/174705/how-...indows-7-or-8/

    Jerry

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Thanks - thats what I was looking for but;

    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    How to reduce the size of your Winsxs folder:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/174705/how-...indows-7-or-8/

    Jerry
    I ran the tool but the folder still has 10 gigs in it. It did reduce it from 13 to 10 gigs however.

    Any comments ?
    Last edited by Jagworld; 2015-03-07 at 09:17.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I ran this from a admin cmd on win7:
    DISM.exe /online /Cleanup-Image /SPSuperseded

    Should I try a different command to cleanup this winsxs folder?
    Last edited by Jagworld; 2015-03-07 at 09:18.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 879 Times in 841 Posts
    You need to run Disk Cleanup as an admin by right clicking on Disk Cleanup and selecting Run as administrator as previously advised - otherwise it won't remove obsolete Windows Updates.

    I'm not sure you should have run the /SPSuperseded command. https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/.../dn251565.aspx

    As Win 7's SP1 is well established as an update, when I ran Disk Cleanup as an admin, I deleted the SP1 back up which freed up a few more GB.

    I guess if I need it back, it will be a factory reset.

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jagworld View Post
    I ran the tool but the folder still has 10 gigs in it. It did reduce it from 13 to 10 gigs however.

    Any comments ?
    From working on my own systems, and customers' systems, <>10GB for the Winsxs folder is about normal. Suggest you don't try harder re Winsxs.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •