Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Estill Springs,TN
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Dell Dimension E521 Motherboard doesn't recognize AMD Athlon X2 64 6000+ CPU

    This Dell E521 came with a AMD Athlon X2 64 3800+ Cpu @ 2.0 gb I have replaced the 3800+ cpu with a 6000+ @ 3.0 gb only problem is the Motherboard sees it as 3800+ and is still operating @ 2.0gb. Can the Dell be upgraded? Several posts on youtube say they have done it back in 2009 or 10
    The e521 came with Vista. I'm using Win7. The dell blog says the bois has to be flashed from DOS. I have tried that,I get (file not recognized) This is a nice quiet machine. it would be even better if it was running @3.0 gb.
    Dell tech support told me it is working fine don't mess with it. I think they want me to buy a new computer.

    4GB of Ram Win7 64bit OS

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Check for a BIOS update on the Dell MB and then try again. Flashing via DOS is just ONE way to flash a BIOS.
    It shouldn't be the only way. Read you MB's manual on alternate means of BIOS updating/flashing.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Estill Springs,TN
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Flashing the bios via dos is what DELL tells me to do on their support site. According to the owners manual you should be able to flash the bios from O/S Vista. But when I tried that I got an error message that said unsupported OS. I have the latest bios update downloaded to the hard drive and installed to a USB bootable Memory Stick. And I'm booting to the USB drive. Just like Dell said too.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Many BIOS updates are downloaded as zipfiles, have you unzipped the file?
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    The BIOS will have to be installed with the old CPU installed. You are adding (hopefully) the microcode to support the new CPU. Then you can upgrade to the 6000+. If it was supported.

    http://products.amd.com/en-us/Deskto...8&id=451&id=34
    There are three 6000+. One is a 65nm processor (I doubt it will work), of the other two 90nm processors (like the 3800+) one is a 125W CPU...that would be somewhat harsh on your old 305W PSU.
    Hopefully your 6000+ is the ADA6000IAA6CZ/ADA6000CZBOX model. An alternative would be to go with the 125W model and a PSU upgrade. Again, if the CPU was never supported by Dell it may not work period unless you can find someone running it on an E521.

    http://products.amd.com/en-us/Deskto...64&id=65&id=75
    There are six 3800+ CPUs. Two are socket 939 CPUs so I dropped those.

    https://www.dell.com/support/home/us...n-e521/manuals

    Athlon 64 X2 dual-core processor with up to 1 MB L2 per core AM2
    Nvidia GeForce 6150LE chipset
    BIOS Revision 1.1.11 last one

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •