Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Netherlands.
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Mouse and keyboard not working after repair installation

    Hi,

    I did a repair installation last year on my Windows XP pc. After that there appears a screen ''An exciting new look'' in the background, but also an error saying:

    ''Files Needed''

    The file asms on Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 CD is needed. Type the path where the file is located and then click OK.

    Copy files from:

    GLOBALROOT\DEVICE\CDROM0\I386''


    My mouse and keyboard are not working. So I can't just click OK and continue...

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Questionmark1998 View Post
    ...My mouse and keyboard are not working. So I can't just click OK and continue...
    What mouse? What keyboard?

    If they are USB then likely XP setup can't recognise them.

    Connect at least PS2 mouse or keyboard then try again.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Netherlands.
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    What mouse? What keyboard?

    If they are USB then likely XP setup can't recognise them.

    Connect at least PS2 mouse or keyboard then try again.
    Both USB, both don't work. Also tried it with a PS/2 mouse and keyboard. Both didn't work.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    I assume you mean they don't work in Windows but still function in BIOS. If that's the case, try booting into Safe Mode. If the Mouse/Keyboard work, go into Device Manager, find the entry for your keyboard and double click on it, click on the Driver tab, and click on Roll Back driver. Repeat for the Mouse entry.

    Jerry

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Netherlands.
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    I assume you mean they don't work in Windows but still function in BIOS. If that's the case, try booting into Safe Mode. If the Mouse/Keyboard work, go into Device Manager, find the entry for your keyboard and double click on it, click on the Driver tab, and click on Roll Back driver. Repeat for the Mouse entry.

    Jerry
    Ok I'll try that this weekend.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I had the same problem after swapping my primary hard drive, keyboard and mouse inop and no lights coming on them. But they were both connected to the PC through a 4 way USB hub which for some reason was no longer recognised.
    So I plugged the USB keyboard and mouse straight into front panel USB sockets and then I could control the PC.
    I had to unplug the 4 way hub and reconnect it, and it reinstalled itself. Then I successfully plugged the keyboard and mouse back into it.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to clpratt For This Useful Post:

    mrjimphelps (2015-03-12)

  8. #7
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Questionmark1998 View Post
    Both USB, both don't work. Also tried it with a PS/2 mouse and keyboard. Both didn't work.
    Make sure you power down before connecting the PS/2 mouse and keyboard. If you connect them while the computer is on, they won't work.

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Netherlands.
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by clpratt View Post
    I had the same problem after swapping my primary hard drive, keyboard and mouse inop and no lights coming on them. But they were both connected to the PC through a 4 way USB hub which for some reason was no longer recognised.
    So I plugged the USB keyboard and mouse straight into front panel USB sockets and then I could control the PC.
    I had to unplug the 4 way hub and reconnect it, and it reinstalled itself. Then I successfully plugged the keyboard and mouse back into it.
    I'll also try that this weekend. Thanks you very much

  10. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Netherlands.
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    Make sure you power down before connecting the PS/2 mouse and keyboard. If you connect them while the computer is on, they won't work.
    Don't worry, I already did that 10 times xD

  11. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Make sure you power down before connecting the PS/2 mouse and keyboard. If you connect them while the computer is on, they won't work.
    I've seen cases where they do work but I've also seen the PS/2 motherboard logic blown when a keyboard was connected with power on. As Mrjim says, power down before connecting to a PS/2 port.

    Jerry

  12. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts

  13. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Netherlands.
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    I assume you mean they don't work in Windows but still function in BIOS. If that's the case, try booting into Safe Mode. If the Mouse/Keyboard work, go into Device Manager, find the entry for your keyboard and double click on it, click on the Driver tab, and click on Roll Back driver. Repeat for the Mouse entry.

    Jerry
    Tried to boot into safe mode. A message shows up which says:

    ''Windows XP Setup cannot run under Safe Mode. Setup will now restart.''

    I cannot use my mouse and keyboard
    Last edited by Questionmark1998; 2015-03-14 at 06:42.

  14. #13
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Questionmark1998 View Post
    How can I boot into Safe Mode? If I press F8 the ''Please select a boot device'' message comes up..
    Depends on your motherboard's BIOS. After power-on wait until immediately after the BIOS splash screen exits, then tap the F8 key repeatedly.

    You should see a screen with options to boot Safe Mode, etc.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  15. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Netherlands.
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    Depends on your motherboard's BIOS. After power-on wait until immediately after the BIOS splash screen exits, then tap the F8 key repeatedly.

    You should see a screen with options to boot Safe Mode, etc.
    I just edited that post cause I already knew the solution. Thanks though

    ---

    I did my Windows XP CD in my Windows 7 computer and saw some folders. What about changing something there? I saw the ASMS folder..
    Last edited by Questionmark1998; 2015-03-14 at 11:09.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •