Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Yarra Glen, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    213
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 39 Times in 25 Posts

    Firefox: secure connection failed

    I normally use Firefox (currently 36.0.1) on Windows 7, and lately when trying to open some websites I get the following error message:

    "Secure Connection Failed. The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.
    The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because the authenticity of the received data could not be verified.
    Please contact the website owners to inform them of this problem."

    The same sites will open normally using IE 11, which is not my preferred browser.

    What is causing this, and is there anything I can do to fix it?

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bundaburra View Post
    ...What is causing this, and is there anything I can do to fix it?
    FF v36.0 was released late last week, and FF v36.0.1 was released yesterday (as far as I can tell). So something would seem to be "up".

    There is quite a lot of discussion at the moment re security vulnerabilities affecting HTTPS secured websites concerning the SSL and TLS encryption protocols. It is likely the problem websites you refer to are affected somehow.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    It could be a network problem on the internet. Give it 24 hours and try again.

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Also try the Malware scanners listed in this post:
    https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1039425

    Jerry

  5. #5
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,491
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Try testing the failing websites with this tool: https://www.ssllabs.com/ssltest/index.html

    Any fails/problems listed might indicate that the server itself is at fault/outdated/insecure and that the correct result from a modern secure browser should be a disconnect from these sites.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    I have the same ver. firefox and am having issues. it shows text but no graphics when I log into mail. I have vista pro.
    I assume they will fix it. I ran many updates yesterday, It could be an issue with FF and update # X.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,731
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    I get those from time to time regarding very common unexciting pages; I refresh [or hit back arrow] and usually get back in business.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    I just read the troubleshooting guide in firefox's site and found that starting in SAFE MODE fixes the issue for me.
    hold down the shift key when starting FF and see if the issue goes away.
    Mine does, so apparently it is an add on or plugin causing the problem.
    Now I have to track down which one.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    I just removed firefox and reinstalled it. The issues disappeared. Either they fixed one of the modules or a module got misloaded originally. You may try that if you haven't already.

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    My problem was that anytime i tried to open anything "Yahoo or ATT" i got text and no graphics.
    I googled troubleshoot firefox and went through their tree.
    I disabled all of the plugins. then I disabled the privacy badger firefox and Ant video downloader: restarted: re enabled them and the problem disappeared.
    turned back on the plugins which I need.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •