Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How to delete SBS 2011 backups, not the client ones

    I have the server backing itself up to an external HD and some of these have failed, how can I delete the failed ones?

    This is not the client backups, I know how to do that.

    Thanks.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,730
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    I think Windows Club or Bleeping Computer has a utility System Restore Manager. I use that to delete old SRPs.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    Roland, Windows SBS server has a backup feature that allows you to backup the server and connected workstations. I've never used it so I don't know how to delete failed backups.

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Roland, as Paul noted my problem is related to the server making a backup of itself and clients. System Restore Manager appears more like saving an image as most of the Windows machine can do.

    I'm probably just as well off making an image of the server partitions ever once in awhile instead of turning on its backup capability.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    you can refer to following articles and check if help you.

    http://blogs.technet.com/b/filecab/a...er-backup.aspx

    http://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2728792

    http://blogs.msmvps.com/bradley/2011...backup-engine/

    also noticed that you failed to running some backups... so you need to check backup log file and narrow down the cause of this issue.

    Best,
    TFA

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TestForumAccount View Post
    you can refer to following articles and check if help you.

    http://blogs.technet.com/b/filecab/a...er-backup.aspx

    http://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2728792

    http://blogs.msmvps.com/bradley/2011...backup-engine/

    also noticed that you failed to running some backups... so you need to check backup log file and narrow down the cause of this issue.

    Best,
    TFA
    Thanks TFA, I'll take a look.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •