Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Reformat a Drobo disk

    I have just replaced 2 disks in my Drobo drive with 4 TB disks. Now I have 2ea 1 TB disks that can't be seen by win 7 either through the Computer app or using "diskpart" dos application.

    Has anyone found a way to be able to format these disks?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Hello and Welcome!

    Do the manufacturers of the disks supply / have available a Low Level Format program?
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Have you tried downloading GPARTED, create the bootable disc and see if the partitions can be deleted then recreated and formatted as NTFS? http://gparted.org/
    The disc runs a version of Linux and Windows is not involved. I use External USB adapters for PATA and SATA drives and also have a 'box' for SATA 3.5" and 2.5" drives. https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q=blacx

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,170
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 980 Times in 910 Posts
    What are the disks part number?
    Have you tried Windows Disk Manager? Start > Run, discmgmt.msc

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Start > Run, discmgmt.msc
    The name of the program is correct but the command is not, should be diskmgmt.msc. The c is okay for describing Optical drives, as printed on the face of the tray, but k is for HDDs. If used frequently one can create a New, Shortcut to Disk Management using diskmgmt.msc in the first dialog box. One could type the whole command C:\Windows\System32\diskmgmt.msc.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,650
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Nowt to do with C's & K's and optical drives whatever.

    MS called their tool diskmgmt.msc

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •