Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Silver Lounger
    Thanks
    Interesting, Jerry. I guess that the same takes place in a USB SDHC ???

Best wishes. Jean.

Thanks
    I would assume so Jean,\.

Jerry

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks

Thanks
    I think the point of the article linked in Jerry's #1 post is clear.

For most PC users the speed advantage w/ SSD far outweighs any concern re longevity, provided user is backing up their system on a regular basis.

Nevertheless I moved my pagefile to my secondary (spinning) HDD after reading the article in Jerry's #1 post, since it is certain that most read/writes are to the pagefile. Note that I have some programming experience so understand what the pagefile is and how programs use it.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks
    How is having the page file on a slower disk better?

cheers, Paul

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    cheers, Paul
    My guess is that he decided the platter-clatter HD will last longer than the SSD.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post

cheers, Paul
    I assume Coochin is just trying to extend the life of the SSD by eliminating page file writes. However, I think the whole idea of an SSD is to increase performance and that includes paging operations in my mind. The SSD will outlast the useful life of a PC for most users including page file writes. You could make an SSD last forever if you never write to it, but then why have one?

Jerry

Thanks