Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Bayside, NY
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 10 not seeing network

    Win10 is running in an Oracle VM, per Fred Langa's procedures (thanks a million, Fred!!) but it's not seeing the other members of the network: the host PC, another PC, a WD MyCloud, and a wifi-connected printer. PCs and the MyCloud are ethernet connected to the FIOS router/wifi access point while the printer is wifi. The vm is joined to the workgroup in Win10, Network Discovery is on, File and Printer Sharing is on, but Windows Explorer shows nothing in the Network folder and the Add Printer routine doesn't find the printer.

    Likely enough I'm missing something obvious -- virtual machines are not something I've had much to do with.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Click on the Network icon in the Notification Area (bottom right of screen) and check that you haven't accidentally enabled Flight mode.

    flight mode.png
    Click to enlarge

    Hope this helps...

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Bayside, NY
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Desktop PC -- no flight mode that I can find.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LIRR2404 View Post
    Desktop PC -- no flight mode that I can find.
    Sorry - I didn't realize 'Flight mode' didn't show in PC's... or maybe it's only when using wireless.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Bayside, NY
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Must be a wireless thing. My Android phone has a flight mode.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    It is a wireless thing. Dates back to when you couldn't use mobiles, laptops etc on planes.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,796
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    And Apple calls it Airplane mode. Its purpose is to save battery drain searching for a wireless connection when there aren't any. Doesn't make any sense on a non wireless system.

    Jerry

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Also called Airplane Mode on my Android phone

    HTC Screenshot.png

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka
    Doesn't make any sense on a non wireless system.
    But PC's can easily be made wireless by adding a wireless adapter... which I guess will activate the visibility of 'Flight mode'.

    Here's my laptop with wireless disconnected and connected via a cable:
    flight mode1.png
    Click to enlarge

    Flight mode is still visible.

    Edit - Just to make sure, I went into Device Manager and disabled the wireless adapter to see if anything changed. Immediate BSOD (now with frowny face ). Re-started and tried again... immediate BSOD. Tried to disable it within the Network and Sharing Center but this doesn't work either.
    Last edited by Rick Corbett; 2015-03-19 at 20:14.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,796
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    That's why I said non wireless rather than desktop. But Flight (Airplane) mode doesn't save much on a desktop which doesn't use a battery. It's only useful on portable devices.

    Jerry

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,796
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Jerry, hello.
    Let me correct a misconception, sorry. The flight mode was forced upon the airline travelers as it was thought that the small transmitters used would radiate interferences to the airplane very sophisticated new all electronic systems. Had nothing to do with the battery saving intent. The same intent is present in hospitals ! I have been in airplanes quite a bit more often than in a hospital. All best wishes. Jean.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Bayside, NY
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Interesting about flight mode, but why does Win 10 not see my network?

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,796
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    Jerry, hello.
    Let me correct a misconception, sorry. The flight mode was forced upon the airline travelers as it was thought that the small transmitters used would radiate interferences to the airplane very sophisticated new all electronic systems. Had nothing to do with the battery saving intent. The same intent is present in hospitals ! I have been in airplanes quite a bit more often than in a hospital. All best wishes. Jean.
    You are right Jean, thanks for the correction. I was relying on my memory and at my age I should know better.

    Jerry

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Bayside, NY
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Maybe I should put this another way:
    1. Win10 doesn't find and can't install my network printer, a Photosmart 7510 which connects on wifi.
    2. The Network folder in Windows Explorer only shows the virtual machine. Does not show the host computer, nor the other computer on the network, nor the printer, nor the MyCloud.
    3. We do have connectivity to the internet. IE and Chrome work fine.
    Am I the only clueless one here?

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,796
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Try opening Devices and Printers. When I did that I got a message about enabling network devices and it found my network printer

    Jerry

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •