Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re-install Windows 7

    I want to re-install Windows 7 Ultimate with the upgrade method. I have the disk and the key, but I am unable to do the re-install because SP 1 is present. I have gone to Control Panel/Programs and Features gotten the list of up dates but was unable to uninstall SP 1. Is there a way to uninstall SP 1?

    I understand the problem with uninstalling SP 1 may be because files are missing or corrupted in SP 1. If there is no way to uninstall SP 1 is it possible to return to Microsoft Update and re-install SP 1. Would that then allow me to uninstall SP 1?

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    721
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    This should have been in the W7 forum. That being said, you cant do an upgrade 1/ because you are actually trying to do a downgrade and 2/ If you uninstall Windows, there's nothing to upgrade. Its possible to uninstall SP1 unless you have run Disk Cleanup at some time in the past and inadvertently removed the SP1 uninstaller files in the process, which may be your problem. See here for instructions

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/w.../uninstall-sp1

    If you cant uninstall it, you will need to do a clean install and then download SP1 and reinstall it (and all the other Hotfixes). Alternatively, download the W7 with SP1 ISO from MS and create a new installation disk, then do a repair installation.

    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-recovery

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Calimanco For This Useful Post:

    Miv (2015-03-21)

  4. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I would love to create a new installation disk with Windows 7 with Sp 1 included. I think that would solve my entire problem. The re-install, upgrade method would then be an upgrade and not a downgrade. Could you give me more specific instructions on how to get to the site where that is. Sorry to be so inept.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 881 Times in 843 Posts
    You can try entering your product key into http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-recovery to see if it will validate to allow you to download the SP1 version.

    From another thread on the forum I believe MS has admitted that the site does have problems, so if it doesn't validate your key then use the Contact Support link in the article.

    Calimanco has given you the site as I have - just scroll down the page to where you enter the key then click on the Validate button.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-03-21 at 12:49.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    Miv (2015-03-21)

  7. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Dear Sudo15,

    I have tried several times and my key was not validated. I looked for, but could not find the "Contact Support Link. Where is it?

  8. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 881 Times in 843 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Miv View Post
    Dear Sudo15,

    I have tried several times and my key was not validated. I looked for, but could not find the "Contact Support Link. Where is it?
    It's just to the right of where you enter the product key - underneath the picture of that lass in the yellow top.

    Scroll down to global offices and give them a bell http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/worldwide.aspx
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-03-21 at 14:56.

  9. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Dear Sudo15,

    Thank you for your help. I have a local phone number and the tech chat desk. The phone I will try on Monday, the tech chat desk first thing in the morning. You can't get anyone at this time, they are obviously backed up. Thank you again.

  10. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 881 Times in 843 Posts
    Let us know how you get on and ask why it wouldn't validate your product key.

  11. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Will do.

  12. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Results with Microsoft

    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Let us know how you get on and ask why it wouldn't validate your product key.
    Dear Sudo15 and Calimano,

    Thank you both for your help. This is my report on what happened (shortened). I got a phone number that was local and they gave me an 800 number that did not involve help. I got some conversation about my product key, but the person I was talking to had English as a third language and most of the conversation involved me saying, "I'm sorry what did you say?". I finally was connected with a chat desk, I thought for tech help. It was not that. In fact that individual or the previous one told me I had used up my product key re-installs. The last guy qualified for his position, I believe, after many years as a used car salesman. I was offered a one year contract under some Microsoft plan for $149.00, covers my computer and my wife's laptop or alternatively I could get Windows 8.1. I could take my computer to the Microsoft store where they would fix everything (after, undoubtedly, selling me a new Windows 7). I explained that I could take my computer to Microcenter, a computer store, where they would do everything that Microsoft would do for a lot less (and in English). High pressure all the way. I asked if in fact he was going to answer my question. I had, by this point, resolved that I was not going to be able to download Windows 7 with SP 1. The question was, can I go to the Microsoft Upgrade Site and reinstall Service Pack 1 on my computer? I understand that the reason I can't uninstall SP 1 is because files are missing or corrupted. His answer was that I will get the same error message because I have used all of my down loads. I believe him. Regardless if it was true before the phone calls, I am sure it is true now. They can do this, it is Microsoft and it is a computer. I would still like to know if re-installing SP 1 over my existing Windows installation is a reasonable solution. I would not like to re-format my hard drive and re-install my Windows 7 disk. That would involve re-installing all my files, not as big a deal as you would assume since most are on SD cards or flash drives, and re-installing all of my programs. I have the entire HD backed up on an external HD with Macrium Reflect and maybe I could selectively reinstall programs and files without the operating system. As far as being able to re-install Windows 7 after what he said about having used up my re-installs, I'll wear a mask. Thanks to you both again.

  13. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 881 Times in 843 Posts
    How many times have you reinstalled and activated Win 7 SP1 ?

    If you only have the original Win 7 disk then I think he's talking a load of BS

    While they would now only allow one copy of the SP1 - MS are freely supplying a download to those with a valid retail product key.

    I'd phone up again - you could get someone else or ask to speak to a supervisor - or even phone another branch and tell them the recovery site wasn't accepting your valid key.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    Miv (2015-03-23)

  15. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thank you again for your reply. Consider this, if you will, I have already spent as much time as it would take to re-install windows 7 and all my files and programs. Any more time spent is really a waste. If I wasn't obsessive-compulsive (alright so I'm neat) I would have given up some time ago.

  16. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 881 Times in 843 Posts
    It was MS that hadn't got it right first time around that Win 7 needed SP1 and if MS hadn't pulled the Digital River downloads, it would have been job done by now - as you have said and you need SP1 to repair SP1 or face the long job of backing everything up and starting afresh with a clean install of bare bones Win 7 - I'd have another go at them and that your key should have been accepted for a SP1 download that was once freely available to everyone.

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    Miv (2015-03-23)

  18. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    661
    Thanked 58 Times in 57 Posts
    Try 800-642-7676 for MSFT Customer Service and explain your situation.
    --- I just tried it and it sounded like it was a valid customer service phone number.
    --- Maybe you could also discuss the lousy experience you went through especially since you were using what appeared to be a valid Microsoft help phone number
    Good luck

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to cmptrgy For This Useful Post:

    Miv (2015-03-23)

  20. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Dear Sudo15 and cmptrgy,

    I will give this a little thought before I decide,but as I said before I am getting a little bored with the whole thing and don't look forward to any further confrontations. My three choices; Call the 7676 number for a further confrontation, Re-install everything, Stay with what I have now. My computer is not disabled, it runs slow at times and some web sites don't respond the first or even the second time or more and a few other things, but after all it still is faster than an abacus.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •