Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brighton, Michigan
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    WIN 7/Vista Disk Crash No OS disks

    Hi To All,

    Has been awhile but good to be back among the tech conscenti; my dilemma is I have an HP HDX 16, 64bit WIN 7 up to date, about five years old, the HD is about to or has died, intermittent operation, flashing yellow light on HD indicator. The system has twice unsuccessfully run the fix - it in DOS and the system/screen goes blank/black.

    This will be the third HD.....it originally came with Vista then HP shipped WIN 7 one month later.....as part of the WIN 7 upgrade I made two Vista back up CD....can only locate on of the two.

    Fortunately, I had some earlier indications of the HD dying so performed a full system back up several days before the end.....a bit na´ve, a full system back up w/system image does or does not include backing up the OS???? My guess is no.....

    If not, what options do I have.....for $55 I can replace the HD with a better fast one......for now until I make the move to Mac Book. All suggestions welcomed! Thank you!!!

    Regards,
    Mojave1
    Regards,
    Marty

    "Aerodynamics Is For Those Who Cannot Build Engines" - Enzo Ferrari

  2. #2
    jwoods
    Guest
    To repair the disk, I would recommend a product called SpinRite, from Steve Gibson at GRC...

    https://www.grc.com/sr/spinrite.htm

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,845
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 176 Times in 149 Posts
    a full system back up w/system image does or does not include backing up the OS????
    Here's a couple of articles on your question about imaging.
    http://www.sevenforums.com/backup-re...ned-drive.html

    http://smallbusiness.chron.com/diffe...ing-68100.html

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    A system image = OS and everything else. This is what you need to replace a hard disk.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brighton, Michigan
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi To All,

    Thanks for the responses, Paul, so to be for sure, for sure, the back ups I've religiously performed (w/system image) actually backs up the OS software? If so, then after replacing the HD, restoring the will be accomplished via the USB peripheral HD, correct?

    Thanks for the insight....mojave1
    Regards,
    Marty

    "Aerodynamics Is For Those Who Cannot Build Engines" - Enzo Ferrari

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    You need a backup program recovery CD / USB to boot from - same software as you used to backup.
    Then you need the backup files, probably on an external hard disk.
    Run the backup program and follow the restore steps.

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brighton, Michigan
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    You need a backup program recovery CD / USB to boot from - same software as you used to backup.
    Then you need the backup files, probably on an external hard disk.
    Run the backup program and follow the restore steps.

    cheers, Paul
    And as I recall a backup program recovery CD must be generated from or with the subject computer??

    Thanks Paul...
    Regards,
    Marty

    "Aerodynamics Is For Those Who Cannot Build Engines" - Enzo Ferrari

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    You can usually create the recovery CD/USB from any computer running the backup program, but if you have unusual disk drivers you will need to use a "bare metal" restore. This is normally an additional cost option for the backup programs.

    cheers, Paul

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2015-04-18)

  10. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,645
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    If you'd like I can burn a couple of Win 7x64 Pro SP1 bootable disks with the eicfg file removed which makes them universal Win 7x64 install disks up to Ultimate and send them to you, but you'd need the generic product key to activate which Belarc Advisor will provide.

    You could then install Win 7 onto the new HD and then use your system image to get back to where you were.

    Just PM me your address if you're interested.

  11. #10
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,157
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mojave1 View Post
    ...a full system back up w/system image does or does not include backing up the OS????...
    If you used Win7's "Backup and Restore" feature to create the backup you could restore the image to a new HDD.
    You will need a Win7 "System repair disk", see screenshot:

    RepairDisk.jpg

    If you don't have a repair disk you could create one on another Win7 64bit computer.

    With the new HDD fitted to the computer, and the external drive with the image connected, boot from the repair disk and choose the option to restore the image (browse to the external drive and choose the image to restore, etc.).
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  12. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brighton, Michigan
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Paul, could you expand on your kind response, the restore will be after I replace the HD.....Thank you mojave1
    Regards,
    Marty

    "Aerodynamics Is For Those Who Cannot Build Engines" - Enzo Ferrari

  13. #12
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    As you are replacing an existing hard disk you should have no problems.
    1. Create a full disk image.
    2. Create a boot/restore CD/USB.
    3. Test that you can boot from the restore CD.
    4. Replace the hard disk.
    5. Plug in the external device containing the image.
    6. Boot from the restore CD.
    7. Restore the disk image, re-sizing the C: / D: partition to fill the new disk.

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •