Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Sloooow macro performance (Excel97 sr2)

    I am baffled! I copied my personal.xls file to a newer PC and my macros run slower??????
    Does anyone have a clue or know where I can get more info??
    My older PC is IBM Aptiva Pentium 233 MHz with only 64 MB memory and a PCI video card with 16MB (Office 97 SR2).
    The "newer" PC is Pentium II 400MHz with 384 MB memory and S3 AGP video with 4MB.
    I have a macro that gathers info from several files to create a rept that I distribute. On the older machine it runs in less than a minute (don't know exact time). On the newer machine the same macro takes about 2 minutes or more to run??????
    Newer machine doesn't need defragging, has more system resources avail. during execution, larger harddrive that it almost empty, etc.
    This is killing me!!!??????? Help!

  2. #2
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sloooow macro performance (Excel97 sr2)

    Phyl

    1) What Excel is running on the New PC?
    2) What OS are you running on both PCs?
    3) Did you copy the old hard drive onto the new one, or did you install all the software from scratch?
    4) Could the workbook be corrupted by the move?
    5) How large is your HD on the new PC?
    6) Are you sure the CMOS/BIOS settings are correct on the new PC to match the performance of the HD, could it be an ATA 100 but running at ATA 66 or 33?

    The hardware is certainly a factor in how code will perform, usually CPU and RAM control these, but other things can affect CPU and RAM and thus affect the code.

    Wassim
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sloooow macro performance (Excel97 sr2)

    Wassim,
    THANKS - for noticing my post!!!
    1- Office97 Professional with SR2 is on both PCs
    2. Win95 OSR2 on both PC's
    3. S/W programs installed from scratch (i.e. not copied) - but the
    personal.xls was copied to zip drive and then to new PC
    4. Wrkbooks aren't corrupt -- just that macros in personal.xls run
    sooooooo slow. Files open and save quickly on the newer PC
    though (as would be expected).
    5. HDisk on new PC is 8.4GB with only about 1GB used. (haven't loaded
    all my other data and reference junk there yet...)
    6. CMOS -- I just glanced at CMOS on 400MHz pc -- HD is autodetected.
    but not sure how to tell about the "ATA" you mention (???).
    could you give me a clue ( Award Bios with ASUS mboard)

    Thanks, Phyl

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sloooow macro performance (Excel97 sr2)

    Just a thinking:
    Is the automatic entry for journal in outlook disabled for Excel? If you are opening a lot of files, maybe there is an entry for each file, written in the journal.
    Francois

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sloooow macro performance (Excel97 sr2)

    Thanks - but journal option is disabled.....

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sloooow macro performance (Excel97 sr2)

    Phyl

    <<< 6. CMOS -- I just glanced at CMOS on 400MHz pc -- HD is autodetected.
    but not sure how to tell about the "ATA" you mention (???).
    could you give me a clue ( Award Bios with ASUS mboard) >>>

    I think you are running at ATA 33. ASUS does have support for ATA100 and to know if you can you need to do the following:

    1) Check your HD and see if it is ATA 66/100 and if it switches automatically.
    2) If you have an Orange xIDE connector, and if the ribbon cable of the HD is ATA 1000 then plug it into that connector, and if you don't have a cable, then you need to buy one.
    3) In your BIOS setup screen you should see something like Enable LBA and that makes it happen.

    If you are connected to the Blue IDE connector you are running ATA 33/66 and that is fine, but it is slow.

    Happy Holidays.

    Wassim
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •