Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Filter the SFC Log File?

    I'm trying to sort out a Win7 desktop that is constantly showing the "Windows Explorer has stopped working" error. One of the first steps I saw was to run System File Checker with the Scannow switch, then look at the CBS logfile. SFC said it found some damaged files it couldn't repair, so I opened the logfile in MS Word to see which specific files those were, how many there were, etc. The logfile is almost 1500 pages in length. Is there some way I can "filter" the entries to just show me the unrepairable files?

  2. #2
    jwoods
    Guest
    In an elevated Command Prompt...

    findstr /c:"[SR]" %windir%\logs\cbs\cbs.log > "%userprofile%\Desktop\sfcdetails.txt"

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I'm getting 2 errors when I run that:

    FINDSTR: Cannot open >
    FINDSTR: Cannot open C:\Users\Motor City Party\Desktop\sfcdetails.txt

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,720
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Worked for me, though the text file was empty. Did you copy and paste or type it manually?

  5. #5
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by JJDetroit View Post
    I'm getting 2 errors when I run that:

    FINDSTR: Cannot open >
    FINDSTR: Cannot open C:\Users\Motor City Party\Desktop\sfcdetails.txt
    Did you run it in an elevated (Run As Administrator) Command prompt?

  6. #6
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    Worked for me, though the text file was empty.
    That happens when there are no [SR] tags (generated by System File Checker) in CBS.log.

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,720
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwoods View Post
    That happens when there are no [SR] tags (generated by System File Checker) in CBS.log.
    I assumed it was something like that.
    I just tried it without running as administrator and it worked just the same. I suspect a mistype somewhere....

  8. #8
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    I just tried it without running as administrator and it worked just the same. I suspect a mistype somewhere....
    Meaning you received "FINDSTR: Cannot open" error...

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,720
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Sorry, not very clear when I read it back. It worked fine, just as it had for me previously.

    Note to self, read replies to make sure they are clear to other readers

  10. #10
    jwoods
    Guest

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    The problem seems to be that when I looked at the posted string, it appeared there was a space before and after the > character. When I redid the string with no spaces, I got the txt file on the desktop. I'm attaching it, hopefully it will show something useful.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  12. #12
    jwoods
    Guest
    Actually, there is a space before and after the > sign in what I posted above...it worked when I cut and pasted it into an elevated Command prompt.

    Glad you got it to work.

    Looks like SFC found and fixed a corrupted file "ie9props.propdesc" in 3 different locations.

    Did it fix the issue in your original post?

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Now instead of the error popup saying "Windows Explorer has stopped working," it says "Internet Explorer has stopped working."

  14. #14
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by JJDetroit View Post
    Now instead of the error popup saying "Windows Explorer has stopped working," it says "Internet Explorer has stopped working."
    I would run SFC until the CBS.log entries show nothing has been repaired.

    Make sure to reboot between SFC sessions.

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    The next time I ran SFC, it found no errors. But I'm still getting the "Windows Explorer has stopped working" problem.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •