Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    How to Solve Printer Offline

    I have a network printer that has been working fine. From my PC I can print without any problem but from my Wife's Win8.1 PC it says the printer is Offline. Her PC can connect to the internet via the WiFi network so I don't think there is a problem in that area. I haven't been able to find how to get it back online! It actually is available and working fine on the network because I can print on it from my Vista PC.

    I'm sure there is a simple solution but I can't find it!

    Thanks,
    Bill

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,735
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 130 Times in 127 Posts
    I'm wondering if you have to Share this printer. And, make sure the other computer has the driver[s] necessary to use said printer.
    Last edited by RolandJS; 2015-03-24 at 15:49.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,411
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 406 Times in 378 Posts
    Do you connect to the printer via the network (either via wifi or an ethernet cable), or is the printer connected via a USB cable to one of the computers? I have found that it is simpler to network a printer when you print via the network.

    When you install the printer software on each computer, select wireless or ethernet. Have a USB cable handy, just in case the printer software needs it temporarily.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Offline usually means you are using the wrong IP address. Delete the printer from the PC and re-install it.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    Do you connect to the printer via the network (either via wifi or an ethernet cable), or is the printer connected via a USB cable to one of the computers? I have found that it is simpler to network a printer when you print via the network. . .
    The printer is connected to the router via WiFi. It has been working fine for both PCs for 6 months or more but it suddeny stopped working for my wife's PC.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    It is possible the printer has picked up a new IP address from your router (did you change / reset it recently?) and only one PC has spotted the change.

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Offline usually means you are using the wrong IP address. Delete the printer from the PC and re-install it.
    OK, I have done that and it is working again! It had worked fine for 6 months or more and then a few days ago it began this Offline stuff.

    Any idea what made it go offline to be begin width?

    Thanks,
    Bill

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    It is possible the printer has picked up a new IP address from your router (did you change / reset it recently?) and only one PC has spotted the change.
    There has been no router change or activity that I know of.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Without knowing the old and new config it's hard to say what happened.

    cheers, Paul

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Dynamic IP addresses can change at any time. They usually don't but they can.
    I have seen what you describe many times. That is why I always setup a static IP in the printer.
    Knowing the IP is always helpful in many ways.
    Another way might be to set up a reservation in your DHCP

  11. #11
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    I almost never use static IPs for printers. I use the printer DNS name when doing the set up and any IP change will have no effect on my ability to print.

    cheers, Paul

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    I don't remember if I used a fixed IP or not when I set up the printer many months ago. I can see the point of both recent messages.

    Thanks to both of you.
    Bill

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •