Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,501
    Thanks
    86
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts

    Keyboard functioning

    I was able in Windows 7 to set the capslock function to work via the shift key -- like a typewriter. I cannot seem to find that now in "10."

    Am I missing it, or is it gone?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,147
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 267 Times in 256 Posts
    It may help to know the make and model of the keyboard, some come with software that allows reprogramming of keys [although being from a typing class in '56 on manuals I don't do that].

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,772
    Thanks
    402
    Thanked 1,550 Times in 1,405 Posts
    Chuck,

    Use SharpKeys. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,501
    Thanks
    86
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    Berton, RG:

    It used to be something (in Windows 7) that was tied into the Language applet on the Control Panel, and worked on several keyboards / PC's I've had over the years.

    I'll try SharpKeys.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,908
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 815 Times in 730 Posts
    Doesn't your keyboard have a Caps lock key?

    Jerry

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,772
    Thanks
    402
    Thanked 1,550 Times in 1,405 Posts
    Jerry,

    I think the idea here is that pressing the Shift key will UnLock the Caps Lock like a typewriter would.

    Personally, I have SharpKeys make the CapsLock key operate like another shift key. I also use it to completely disable the NumLock key (it's on at boot and can't be turned off!)
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •