Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Win7 64bit locks up

    I think this is associated with Firefox since it is running at the time. My question is how can I get more info about the lockup other than starting to remove apps from Firefox? I've looked at the event logs (Administrative one) and there is nothing other than the info associated with restart I have to do after the lockup.

    Suggestions?
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  2. #2
    jwoods
    Guest
    A couple of things to start...

    1. In Control Panel, select Performance Information and Tools > Advanced Tools > Generate a System Health Report.

    2. In Control Panel, select Adminstrative Tools > Windows Memory Diagnostic.

    Post your results.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,613
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 871 Times in 833 Posts
    Do you get the same lock up when using IE ?

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwoods View Post
    A couple of things to start...

    1. In Control Panel, select Performance Information and Tools > Advanced Tools > Generate a System Health Report.

    2. In Control Panel, select Adminstrative Tools > Windows Memory Diagnostic.

    Post your results.
    Don't know what item 1 is suppose to do. It just sets there.

    Item 2 shows no errors.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Do you get the same lock up when using IE ?
    Don't use IE and don't plan on it. Enough evidence exists that it is Firefox that I rather inactivate apps rather than go down the IE road. Thanks anyway.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,613
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 871 Times in 833 Posts
    It's standard practice to try another browser if you get problems in another - that's the only reason I have Firefox installed should I rarely get problems with my IE and a reset doesn't cure it.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2015-03-26)

  8. #7
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by deeppow View Post
    Don't know what item 1 is suppose to do. It just sets there.

    Item 2 shows no errors.
    What it *should do* is show that it is collecting data for 60 seconds, and then display a complete report of the findings...

    Screenshot 1.jpg

  9. #8
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by deeppow View Post
    Don't use IE and don't plan on it. Enough evidence exists that it is Firefox that I rather inactivate apps rather than go down the IE road. Thanks anyway.
    Your thread title said "Win7 64 bit locks up", rather than "Firefox locks up", so that should be clarified.

    Disable Extensions one at a time in Firefox to troubleshoot Firefox only.

    There is also a Firefox Health Report, and Troubleshooting Information (which has a link to All Crash Reports), under the Help menu on the toolbar.

  10. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwoods View Post
    Your thread title said "Win7 64 bit locks up", rather than "Firefox locks up", so that should be clarified.

    Disable Extensions one at a time in Firefox to troubleshoot Firefox only.

    There is also a Firefox Health Report, and Troubleshooting Information (which has a link to All Crash Reports), under the Help menu on the toolbar.
    Thanks jwoods.

    I characterize it as win7 locks up because the system is totally "locked up," cursor won't move --- crtl+alt+del does not work --- and I have to power off then back on to reboot the system. Firefox is always open when this happens so my diagnosis it is the cause is only based on that indirect evidence. A firefox crash report after reboot does not appear.

    I'm looking at the Firefox Health Report info but that'll take some time.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  11. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    That sort of lockup suggest hardware, like your CPU shutting down due to over-temperature.

    cheers, Paul

  12. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Over temp shuts the PC down with noticeable slowing in performance before hand unless it really heats up fast.

    How often does this happen? Or how long does it run before this happens? Were it me I would determine if it is the OS or hardware or Firefox related to eliminate suspects rather than taking blind shots at first. But the OP doesn't seem interested.

  13. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fascist Nation View Post
    Over temp shuts the PC down with noticeable slowing in performance before hand unless it really heats up fast.

    How often does this happen? Or how long does it run before this happens? Were it me I would determine if it is the OS or hardware or Firefox related to eliminate suspects rather than taking blind shots at first. But the OP doesn't seem interested.
    Temps are fine. Chilled water cooling and never reach 40C. Happens 1-2 a day.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  14. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    So you can run your PC but it locks up 1-2 times a day?

    And you cannot run a Health Report?

  15. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fascist Nation View Post
    So you can run your PC but it locks up 1-2 times a day?

    And you cannot run a Health Report?
    I can run a health report but it doesn't tell me anything of use. Whatever causes the crash kills it before the sys can note what was to called and about to happen.

    I'm in the process of inactivating half the services etc., bisection, and working through those.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  16. #15
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by deeppow View Post
    I can run a health report but it doesn't tell me anything of use. Whatever causes the crash kills it before the sys can note what was to called and about to happen.

    I'm in the process of inactivating half the services etc., bisection, and working through those.
    Again (just to be clear), you were/are saying that Firefox locks up everything. If this is the *only* application that does this, the issue then is likely with Firefox, or one of the Firefox add-ons or plug-ins.

    The Windows System Health Report won't report anything about Firefox errors, but you should see some information in the Firefox Health Report, which is accessed from the Firefox toolbar at Help > Firefox Health Report.

    Additionally from the Firefox toolbar at Help > Troubleshooting Information, you should see a link called "All Crash Reports" which should have some information on Firefox crashes.

    I would also check the Windows Event Logs, which will show Firefox errors.

    Click on Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Event Viewer. Click on the Custom Views folder to expand it, and then click on Administrative Events.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •