Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Question Finding printer driver already installed on my system

    I am (was) using an HP Laserjet series 1200 monochrome printer. I have installed the driver several times. I haven't confirmed this, but it seems like whenever I plug it into a different USB port, it wants the driver installed again. I'm not sure where I got the driver, but I can't find it using Windows Update now.

    Is the driver a discreet file I can burn to a disc so I have it whenever the printer needs it? Where can it be found?

    Thanks,

    Keff

  2. #2
    jwoods
    Guest
    When you say you've installed the driver several times, how are you doing that?

    HP would be the place to go to find the most current drivers for your printer.

    The HP Support Center for the LaserJet 1200 can be found here...

    http://h20565.www2.hp.com/portal/sit...p4ts.oid=29789

    On that same page, you may also want to check out the Top Issues and Solutions section.
    Last edited by jwoods; 2015-04-10 at 16:21.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to jwoods For This Useful Post:

    Keffdoak (2015-04-19)

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,156
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 268 Times in 257 Posts
    Also of note is that the printer is re-identifying each time you change the USB port, have seen the same happen with External HDDs [Hard Disk Drives]. To avoid that problem I have my HP Laserjet M1212 plugged into my Router using an Ethernet cable and installed as a Network printer, all computers I install the software on can use it whether Wired to the Router or Wi-Fi.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    7,815
    Thanks
    198
    Thanked 1,024 Times in 972 Posts
    Perhaps a clean out of the USB drivers would help and it's possible the INFCACHE.1 file could be corrupt.

    This article deals with both http://www.sysnative.com/forums/hard...ate-reset.html

    I don't know if this MS Fixit does anything with the INFCACHE.1 file, but you can also give that a try.

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...evice_problems

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo For This Useful Post:

    Keffdoak (2015-04-19)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •