Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Copy to CD-RW: Incorrect Function

    I've got a new system with XPH. I can burn CDs with WMP. But when I try to copy data files with "My Computer" to the RW, I get the error: "F:is not accessible. Incorrect Function". "Copy files to CD" is not available in the "action panel thingy" like it should be.
    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy to CD-RW: Incorrect Function

    Ouch, I had this happen to me before and I am sorry to say that I don't know of any good fix - that is, outside of a complete format and re-install.

    Try changing IDE cables on the drive before you do that to eliminate that possibility.

    You might try changing the IDE port that the drive is connected to, and removing it entirely from the system - unplugging and all. Then from Windows remove the device in the Add/Remove hardware options list, and re-install the whole thing.

    Good luck - and let's hope that it doesn't mean that your drive is faulty.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy to CD-RW: Incorrect Function

    A quick search on Google for "cd not accessible. Incorrect Function" shows you are not alone.

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.hardwareanalysis.com/content/topic/376/>This thread</A> is typical of the many forums discussing this very subject and may give you some ideas.

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy to CD-RW: Incorrect Function

    Thanks for the lead, Leif. Slave sounds promising; this system has a Zip in it; I don't know how they're connected. I'll check it next week when I get back to the system and let you know if that was it.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Townville, South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy to CD-RW: Incorrect Function

    I just got a new PC w/XPH last night and had a similar problem because I didn't realize it is necessary to format CD-Rs before you can drag and drop to them. <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15>

    Also, instead of dragging and dropping, I've had good luck using the "Send To" menu.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy to CD-RW: Incorrect Function

    format CDR or CDRW? you should not have to format CDR disks to use them, but CDRW disks need fornatted. The cd writer software built into winxp doesn't fully support CDRW features, so it's somewhat of a waste to use CDRW media.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Townville, South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy to CD-RW: Incorrect Function

    Well, I'll be the first to admit that I don't understand all I know about XP and CD writers, having owned each for less than 24 hours.

    I have a new Dell box, and when I put a blank CD-R disk in the the drive, I get a message box offering the opportunity to use Roxio's EZ CD Creator. If I don't choose the option to format the disk, attempts to access the drive fail with messages similar to the original subject of this thread.

    I'm open to being educated on this stuff.

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy to CD-RW: Incorrect Function

    what brand of CDR did you buy? I've never seen that message on CDR's, although if you have a CDR in and try to use Direct CD, you might get that message.

    Direct CD needs to format the cd and allows you to use it like a floppy disk or a second hard drive. I think it only works with CDRW media though.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Townville, South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy to CD-RW: Incorrect Function

    I went out to Circuit City during the Friday after Thanksgiving frenzy and bought a spindle of 100 Digital Media CD-R 700 MB 80 Min. recordable CDs. I believe the manufacturer is STI Certified Products, Inc.

    Does XP Home have any built-in CD-R tools other than the Roxio application?

    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy to CD-RW: Incorrect Function

    those should be fine - i bought the same ones in the fall.

    did your computer come with easy cd creator? XP has a basic version of the same program built in, but most new computers also include a full version of popular software and you may have the full version.

    the one included with xp works only off the send to menu. if you open a program interface and have several options, it's the full version that came with your computer.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •