Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 38
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Carlsbad, New Mexico USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Cannot access D-Link router

    When I enter the ip address of my D-link router, I always get a google search page pertaining to "not being able to access modem at 192.168.0.1". I checked the ip address of the router and it is 192.168.0.1. Seems to me in the past, when using a browser (IE or Firefox) and searching the ip address, I would get a "sign in" box from the router. What am I doing wrong.
    I wanted to add security encryption to my wifi.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,797
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Just type the IP address in the address box of your browser.

    Jerry

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,198
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    Type it in the address bar with "http://" in front.
    e.g. http://192.168.0.1

    When setting home wifi security you should ONLY use WPA2. Everything else is insecure / crackable in about 60 seconds. If you want a good password to use, try the GRC password page. I recommend you use a 64bit Hex password as this allows you to connect via the WPS button.

    Don't forget to save your passwords in a password manager and then backup the database offline so you can access it when a disaster strikes.

    cheers, Paul
    Last edited by Paul T; 2015-04-15 at 02:55.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Praha
    Posts
    990
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 105 Times in 90 Posts
    Are you trying to access it via WIFI itself ?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,639
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    See if it gives you the log in when using an Ethernet connection.

    If that fails then try either power cycling or a factory reset of the router.

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Carlsbad, New Mexico USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That is what I have been doing. No luck.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Carlsbad, New Mexico USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MartinM View Post
    Are you trying to access it via WIFI itself ?
    The computer I am using to access the router is the one "hard wired" to the router.

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Carlsbad, New Mexico USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    See if it gives you the log in when using an Ethernet connection.

    If that fails then try either power cycling or a factory reset of the router.
    The computer I am using to access the router is the one "hard wired" to the router.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    What DNS service are you using?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,639
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Perform this hard reset on the router and then see if it has resolved the log in problem http://www.ehow.com/how_8435948_hard...nk-router.html

    An ipconfig /all command from the command prompt will confirm the Default Gateway which is your router's log in URL.

    While WPS can be a quick way to connect, it's not really advisable http://www.howtogeek.com/176124/wi-f...ld-disable-it/
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-04-15 at 12:39.

  11. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Carlsbad, New Mexico USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    What DNS service are you using?
    Sorry, what does DNS refer to?

  12. #12
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    DNS is the route to translating website names like google.com into their IP addresses, I'm trying to figure out if you have some kind of intercept via a toolbar/adware/malware that's running interference with normal access and lookups.

    http://computer.howstuffworks.com/dns.htm

    Your DNS servers should be listed in the output from running ipconfig /all.

    Also from Control Panel > Internet Options > Connections tab > LAN Settings button - what do you have listed there?

  13. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Carlsbad, New Mexico USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    DNS is the route to translating website names like google.com into their IP addresses, I'm trying to figure out if you have some kind of intercept via a toolbar/adware/malware that's running interference with normal access and lookups.

    http://computer.howstuffworks.com/dns.htm

    Your DNS servers should be listed in the output from running ipconfig /all.

    DNS Servers 192.168.0.1

    Also from Control Panel > Internet Options > Connections tab > LAN Settings button - what do you have listed there?
    DNS Servers 192.168.0.1

  14. #14
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Can you post the full output from ipconfig /all, please?

  15. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Carlsbad, New Mexico USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have nothing listed on LAN Settings tab........ (nothing checked or typed in).

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •