Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Scheduling a VBS script

    I want to schedule the attached (is actually a vbs script) via the task scheduler. But it won't run. I cannot figger what's wrong.

    ?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    Attached Files Attached Files
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Chuck,

    What type of machine Desktop or Laptop?
    Does it require Administrative Privileges?

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    RG,

    In your third image you show calling CMD. I had thought VBS wold run by itself.

    ??

    Chuck

    BTW, it's an HP laptp
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Chuck,

    That's not for a .VBS file it is for a .cmd file. I don't have any .vbs files to test as I don't use them. You should put in the Program/script: field what ever command you would use to run it from a command prompt. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    CWBillow (2015-04-21)

  7. #6
    jwoods
    Guest
    See how something similar was done in this thread...

    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...task+scheduler
    Last edited by jwoods; 2015-04-21 at 20:33.

  8. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Ah...thanks, RG.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  9. #8
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    Unlike another member, I use tons of .vbs (Visual Basic Script) files, especially in my Setup or Tune-Up of a computer.
    They are great for setting or changing Registry Entries, and that keeps me out of the registry.

    I think the script in question by the OP, is the script to "Force a new Restore Point", which has been in common use for years and has recently been RE-Written for use with Windows 10. (Thank you Shawn!)

    VBS files run just like .com, .exe, .bat files, etc. Just click on the file and it will run. No big deal. They can also be run in the Startup folder or Task manager (not my favorite place to run anything) and can even be run from within a Batch file, using the CALL command.

    The only problem comes when the .vbs file has an error in it. Like if I try to run the "Force restore Point" script written for Windows XP, on a PC running Windows 8.1, or even Windows 10. It will error out.

    Many times I've gone on a PC Service call, knowing that all I have to do when I get there is do a System Restore back a few days and the problem will be fixed. Then I get there and find that some numbnuts has turned OFF the System Restore feature.*
    * I'm finding that Windows 10 is coming with the System Restore function shut OFF. WTF?

    I test a lot of pieces of software, and there is at least one time per week that I need to do a System Restore to get rid of some unwanted piece of crap software. To make sure that I always have a fresh Restore Point when I need it, I run the script to force a new restore point from within my Startup folder. It only adds a few seconds to my boot time, so why not?

    Cheers Mates!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •