Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 58
  1. #1
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts

    Downloading 10061

    10061 is available on fast track. Currently at 7% on my VM.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to bbearren For This Useful Post:

    jwitalka (2015-04-22)

  3. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Too late to play with it now. I'll catch it in the morning.

    Jerry

  4. #3
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Ditto, just started working on it, myself. Had a feeling it was going to be 61.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Attachment 42784

  5. #4
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Too late to play with it now. I'll catch it in the morning.

    Jerry
    It's only at 40% now. I'll check on its progress in the morning.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  6. #5
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Ok, LIVE, now. The DL & install time was short; BIG improvement right off the bat. Works very well, so far... much better than 10049. Some really cool 'improvements', if you will. Weather & Calendar BIG (appealing) difference. Taskbar is now transparent, YES! (One thing I was asking for, likely others were, also). Overall, can see a nice improvement in icons, graphics, colour... it's generally more 'exciting' & prettier to look at & there is more consistency. Taskbar was not holding its size after a Restart, does now YEA!! Well, can, now, 'size' Start menu in a way but, the damn space, still, remains after removing Tiles. And some VERY cool, very welcome, improvements w/in Multiple Desktops!


    Bad side... Spartan, still, does not work for me; same as before, opens & starts to load then second or 2 & POOF, gone from the screen. So that's 2 things to report to the Build Teams

    And can't imagine anyone staying this Build is not fast; it is.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Attachment 42785

    PS: Internally MS is @ Build 10104
    Last edited by Drew1903; 2015-04-23 at 04:41.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,420
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    The Register has its own idiosyncratic and largely superlative-free views about "What's broken in this week's Windows 10 build?"...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  8. #7
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    This is from Insider Hub:

    Here are some known issues for this build
    •We know this one will be a bit painful but there is a bug with this build in which Win32 (desktop) apps won’t launch from the Start menu. The workaround is to use search to find and launch these apps and pin them to your taskbar for quick access.
    •The Windows Store Beta (grey tile) and Project Spartan get unpinned after upgrading. You can re-pin them to your Taskbar from All apps on your Start menu.
    •The version of the Mail and Calendar apps included in this build (17.4008.42281.0) have a known issue that causes every typed letter to appear twice. Which might be funny if it weren’t so irritating. We have fixed this issue with updated versions of the apps (17.4016.42291.0) available in the Windows Store Beta (grey tile). If you don’t open the Mail and Calendar apps within the first 15 minutes after logging in to your device for the first time after upgrading and your device is connected to the Internet, the apps should update automatically. You can also go into the Store Beta and check for updates manually at any time.
    •Cortana will highlight things it will be able to help users with, but some of these features are not yet implemented and we are working to deliver them soon.
    •There is a known issue where you might see a black screen with only your mouse cursor during login/logout. We have a fix for this coming via WU.
    •Downloading music in the Xbox Music and Music Preview apps is currently broken. We also have a fix for this coming via WU.
    •When you minimize an app playing audio, it may stop playing once its minimized.
    •In Project Spartan, no selection highlight appears when selecting text in the address box. You can right click in the address box to cut/copy/paste and it will work as expected. We also have a fix for this coming via WU.
    •Magnifier does not work when you put it into docked mode. We will also have a fix for this coming via WU.

  9. #8
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    10061 was ready for me to login this morning. It went through the 'fixin' a few things' and 'downloading your apps' stuff, then opened the desktop.

    As for Spartan, the first time I tried it in 10049 it didn't work, so I closed it and started over, and it worked fine. The only problem I had was that it would open full screen, and I had to resize it. It's working fine still in 10041, and it opened in a window this time instead of full screen, so that's an improvement for me.

    I don't use Apps so much, so whether they're broken or not, I don't know. I'll keep piddlin'.
    Last edited by bbearren; 2015-04-23 at 15:14.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  10. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,796
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    W-10.jpg

    Hello. Flawless install of 10061 this morn. Will be running through the steps this PM. Thanks MS !
    Last edited by handcuff36; 2015-04-23 at 13:12.

  11. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,796
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Bear, you wrote : 10041 was ready for me to login this morning.

    Did you mean 10061 or is this a step back for you ? All beat wishes. Jean.

    W-10.jpg
    Last edited by handcuff36; 2015-04-23 at 13:13.

  12. #11
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Bruce, did you try reading the Lounge with Spartan? It's completely unusable to me. The top menu bars are all missing:

    spartan.JPG

    Jerry

  13. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,796
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Hello, Jerry. All is fine here, I am on Spartan, had to go and look for it, no taskbar icon. I was on Google and after I read your cry for help I went to Spartan and voilà. You did remember to log in anew, no ?

    0061.jpg

    I show this .jpg in case you meant different.

    Great 10061, it runs ALL my old stuff, all of it no tweaking to do. The install was faultless and quick. All best wishes. Jean.

  14. #13
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    Bear, you wrote : 10041 was ready for me to login this morning.

    Did you mean 10061 or is this a step back for you ? All beat wishes. Jean.
    I've edited the original. I did mean 10061, but didn't notice my typo.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  15. #14
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Bruce, did you try reading the Lounge with Spartan? It's completely unusable to me. The top menu bars are all missing:

    Jerry
    Yes, Jerry, the Windows 10 Forum is my default home page in my Windows 10 VM. Spartan was in the Start Menu, but it loaded the Lounge OK. The first time it launched in a window, but the next time it launched full screen. I'm still piddlin' with that.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  16. #15
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Thanks for the update Jean. Yes, I'm logged in. Even tried logging out and logging back in.

    Update: Scrolled all the way down to the bottom of the page and found a "Open full page" link. Clicked on it and I got the same display you have. Must have got into a strange reading mode somehow. Don't see any way to replicate it.

    Jerry

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •