Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Problems Adding Memory

    Today I tried to increase my mem capacity on my Toshiba laptop (8.1). I removed the two modules inserted the two new ones I purchased following Toshiba specs. The pc would not even power on until I put the old ones back in. Can someone tell me why this would happen? I'm very curios. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Ensure that you have followed electrostatic precautions. (One of the #1 reason for new memory issues)
    Inspect the DIMM slots to ensure that they are clean and free of any debris.
    Inspect the memory to ensure that there is no oil or fingerprint debris on the contacts.

    After powering down completely, remove the laptop's battery, then proceed to install the new memory.
    (This may mean disbleing fast boot and or reconfiguring BIOS or EUFI to boot to disk or USB stick)
    Boot into BIOS or EUFI to see if your new memory is recognized.
    Ensure that you have the latest BIOS or EUFI.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,621
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 877 Times in 839 Posts
    Have you tried just one of the new sticks at a time ?

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    661
    Thanked 58 Times in 57 Posts
    Double check the specs & information on the memory chips that were installed and the ones you purchased

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the reply. I may try it again tomorrow.

    I don't know about removing the battery it looks like quite a project.
    Last edited by kiaville; 2015-04-23 at 18:49. Reason: add more

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,621
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 877 Times in 839 Posts
    What is your Toshiba model including the short model number ?

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Toshiba model number and make/model number of RAM you bought?

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks everyone. I am waiting for a good sale on an 8gb before I try again. I had purchased 16 gb (two 8's) without realizing the pc has an 8 & 4 in order to get 12 gb "duhhhh" so I only need an 8 to upgrade. So for now this is closed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •