Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Midlands, UK
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Using a laptop as an external hard drive

    I use an internal second hard drive to hold backup images and files on my Win 7 desktop. The drive is nearly full but there is a lot of spare room on my laptop - is it practical to use the laptop to receive the backup files using a cable - if so, how do I do it?. I use EasUS Todo to back up my docs etc., and Macrium Reflect for images.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    You can simply copy the image files there, using your network. If you have wired network, this would probably be the fast way to handle it.

    It may be more complex to restore the images, if they are on the laptop, though. I would this stored the oldest images on the laptop, while keeping the less old ones in the internal drive.

    I am sure you are aware of it, but the internal drive is not the safest place to save your images. If you want to be totally safe, get an external drive. From a safety point of view, even the laptop is better (although the laptop wouldn't be directly usable to restore one of the images stored there).
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2015-04-28),mike21 (2015-04-26)

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Midlands, UK
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    That method is not practical with an upload speed of about 600 kbps - it would take forever. I do save to an external drive as well - I suppose the better way would be to save to the external drive, plug that into the laptop and transfer that way - then delete the file on the external drive to free it up for the next backup, but perhaps i should get a bigger external drive as well.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    You'd be better off just getting a larger external drive, or better yet, getting another internal drive for this sort of thing.

    I experimented with a cable a few years back and found it to be impractical...and slow.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mike21 View Post
    That method is not practical with an upload speed of about 600 kbps - it would take forever. I do save to an external drive as well - I suppose the better way would be to save to the external drive, plug that into the laptop and transfer that way - then delete the file on the external drive to free it up for the next backup, but perhaps i should get a bigger external drive as well.
    External drives are rather cheap. If you can, keep the existing drive, get a new one with enough storage and then rotate the drives while backing up.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  7. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •