New Lounger
    Thanks

Fiber optic to ethernet

Good morning All,

I have a customer building a main house plus two guest houses and I need to get network connectivity from the main house to the guest houses. Total conduit (already in place) distance is about 800 ft, the longest run between manholes is right at 300 ft.

Could use cat6 and put in two switches at either end of 300' underground run but that seems like a problem waiting to happen. 1st switch in the server room, 2nd switch in manhole, 3rd switch in manhole, 4th switch in the guest house. Nah, too many switches and points of failure.

So I am thinking ‘run fiber’, but I have zero experience/knowledge with fiber. Can someone point me in the right direction and help me come up to speed? (And NO, he does not want wireless point to point.)

When I look at 1000’ spools of cable I see multiple choices and my ignorance is showing. Multimode, Single mode; 2, 4, 6 ‘strands’ etc. What the heck do I need? Is a ‘strand’ a single connection and 2 strands gives me 2 1gb ports?
    http://www.computercablestore.com/In...catID4445.aspx
    (cable does not have to come from this site, I just happened to goog into here)

Who makes a good reliable ethernet to fiber adapter? The switches are Netgear Prosafe gigabit.

And what tools do I need to terminate the fiber? Can I get custom length cable pre-terminated cable so I don’t need any tools?

All tips appreciated.

Thanks,
    Patrick

Thanks
    Hi Patrick, you might want to check whether powerline adapters will work in that scenario, it depends on how separated the individual property power feeds are. A cheap pair to test with might only cost $30-35.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks satrow,
    powerline wouldn't work here, the install is on a small island in the Caribbean, 208v distribution system. Plus I tried powerline a few years ago at my house and was not impressed.