Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: System Restore

  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System Restore

    System restore is working and making restore points, but I can't do a system restore. I pick a restore point and get it to run but when it has finished and the computer has restarted, I get the message that system restore did not restore the files. I have had this problem for a while now and can't seem to find a reason for it. Any help would be much appreciated. I am running Windows 7 Home 64bit.
    Cheers John.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Have you tried it in safe mode? Often an anti-virus solution can interfere with a restore.

    Joe

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    Ickabod (2015-05-01)

  4. #3
    jwoods
    Guest
    As mentioned, boot into Safe Mode and start the restore.

    When it reboots your computer, boot into Safe Mode "again" to let it complete.

    I have seen security software block the completion of a restore when booting into "regular" Windows.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to jwoods For This Useful Post:

    Ickabod (2015-05-01)

  6. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you both for your help. It does work when you boot into safe mode, I had tried to restore with the antivirus turned off but that didn't work. It used to work fine, don't know what has gone wrong.
    Cheers John.

  7. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    It is very difficult to diagnose the exact issue when a restore fails. Most likely is a file being in use that the restore wants to replace but is unable.

    Joe

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    Ickabod (2015-05-07)

  9. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    I think I would back up the drive image and then try SFC /scannow and if that did not ahem restore system restore's ability to restore then I would try a repair install.

    I am not sure why system restore would make restore points and then not revert them unless the revert part was broken. I would be a little suspicious by what? Rootkit, malware?
    Last edited by Fascist Nation; 2015-05-01 at 15:19.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Fascist Nation For This Useful Post:

    Ickabod (2015-05-07)

  11. #7
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Fascist Nation View Post
    I think I would back up the drive image and then try SFC /scannow and if that did not ahem restore system restore's ability to restore then I would try a repair install.

    I am not sure why system restore would make restore points and then not revert them unless the revert part was broken. I would be a little suspicious by what? Rootkit, malware?
    In my experience, I have found that AV software (I'm looking at you Bitdefender) will block the completion on reboot.

    Starting the restore in Safe Mode and going into Safe mode again when restore reboots was the fix, after multiple attempts failed rebooting into "regular" Windows.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to jwoods For This Useful Post:

    Ickabod (2015-05-07)

  13. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks everyone for your help. Have been away with work, so that's why I have not replied. I have ESET Smart Security and Malwarebytes Premium, so I am fairly sure there is no infection. I have tried to run it with ESET turned off, but no difference. It worked in safe mode so I suppose I will have to do it that way.

  14. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Even though you turned ESET off it really depends on how you turned it off and what ESET does when it is "off". There could be services still started which just don't do anything related to malware protection but still keeps it self updated or just sits there. As I said earlier it is very difficult to determine the precise reason for a restore failure without log files to examine.

    BTW, did you check the system log or the application log to see if there was anything about the failure there?

    Joe

  15. #10
    jwoods
    Guest
    Bitdefender is the same way.

    Lots of documented issues/solutions online about AV/malware solutions interfering with a restore.

    Chances are there will be no helpful entries in the event logs...except for stuff that can't start in Safe Mode.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •