Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Darken the desktop?

    I just updated to Build 10074. Is there a way to darken the desktop (solid colors)? I know it's not all together, but it would be nice since some of the colors are a bit "bright."

    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    On Notebooks one can dim the display and on Desktops most monitors have buttons to bring up the OSD menu and change things like Brightness, Contrast, etc. Downside to either is the other things on the screen may be too dim for use.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Yea Berton...ALL I want (hear me whine?) Is a way to change the color to a darker less glaring base color, but I'll just have to wait on development, I suppose...

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,735
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    My desktop was too bright. So, I noted that Brightness and Contrast were 40 out of 100. I moved both sliders down to 37, used desktop and software for a couple days. Desktop stil too bright, software was aok; I repeated the cycle until the sliders were 30 each. I moved sliders only 2-3 points per session. Perfect for all things considered. If I'm doing backup all day, I move sliders that day down to 20.
    Last edited by RolandJS; 2015-05-06 at 13:20.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Have you tried "Personalization"? Right click on desktop and click on Personalization. Change you color there,

    Joe

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    There doesn't seem, Joe, to be any "flat" medium-dark blue, and no color adjusters -- yet.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Roland, I can't seem to find brightness and contrast. Where are these?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Chuck, the contrast and brightness buttons Roland refers to will be physical buttons on the display, most likely accessed through some menu option on the display itself.

    As for Windows settings click Start->Settings then type in Theme in the search box, most settings can be found there.

    Screenshot (2).png

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,735
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    I'm sorry I didn't say so earlier, these are on the external monitor's Menu! Many monitors have these controls also on the front panel or alongside the monitor.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Browni, as I worked from a laptop, the display has no external controls. As for "Theme" I can get to the themes workspace, but will stored themes prior to this build of "10" work? I am certainly a master at screwing up my system trying out things!

    The theme's listed don't really off what I need. I have themes from earlier builds of 10 though.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  11. #11
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    As it's a laptop it will be a combination of keys such as FN+F7 for example, I'm sure it will be described in the manual.

    Regarding older themes working, your guess is as good as mine! Try it and see!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •