Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Can't get a full screen in desktop or anything else

    Just installed build 10074 on a new hard drive (using boot menu to switch), but I can't get a full screen display on a 1024 x 768 monitor. The image looks to be 768 square, but in Settings/Display, it shows 1024 x 768. Win 7 uses the full screen.

    How can I get a full screen?

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Sounds like you need a new video driver. Might check either the computer vendor or the motherboard manufacturer. If using an Add-in PCi, AGP or PCIe X16 card check with the manufacture of it.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    7 and 8.1 work perfectly with the latest Nvidia GeForce update.

    I'll see if I can update the driver when I open 10 again. If not, I'll see if I can copy the driver from the 7 system over to the 10. Not sure when - I start playing with a new OS and I lose all track of time - and other things don't get done!

    I assumed that 10 would have a full library of drivers. My video card is pretty standard.

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    I'm running, as you know, separately 8.1 & 10 w/ Nvidia and no problems. But, it does sound like a vid driver issue in 10. Also, Rt Clk Desktop > Display & check ALL the setting there.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Attachment 43076

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Here's a link to the Nvidia Beta driver for Win 10. I have it installed and it works fine.

    http://www.nvidia.com/download/drive...px/84233/en-us

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Gramps62 For This Useful Post:

    joro (2015-05-11)

  7. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks very much. Downloaded it, but it wouldn't complete the installation - said it didn't find a compatible device. Win 7 and Win 8 both work well with this 28" monitor, but 10 loads the non-PnP generic display. Tried to get it to update the driver, but it says it's using the correct one.

  8. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    You have a 28" 1024 x 768 monitor?

  9. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    That is correct. JVC brand.

  10. #9
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Strikes me as a rather low resolution for such a large monitor. Please, check that it is using its highest (Recommended) setting.

    For example: I have a 23" that runs @ 1920 x 1200

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Attachment 43085

  11. #10
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    So does my Nvidia. No issues w/ Win10 display, @ all. Joro, check for updates. And Nvidia just had driver updates today. My available resolution was not right when Win10 1st installed... after grabbing updates via WU it was fine.

    From Nvidia have to specify your exact model #

    Which Nvidia do you have?

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Attachment 43086

  12. #11
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    @ joro

    1024x768 resolution is for monitors that have 4:3 aspect ratio (the ratio between width and height).

    It is 1,024 PPI by 768 PPI (PPI = Pixels Per Inch).

    Your 28" JVC is probably 16:9 aspect ratio ("widescreen").

    My 23.6" 16:9 monitors are running at 1920x1080 resolution.

    In Win10 go to "Settings\System\Display\Advanced display settings" and use the "Resolution" dropdown list to choose the resolution that works best for your monitor.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  13. #12
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    And we are both on the same wavelength, again

    2 of us saying check the display resolution setting.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Attachment 43087

  14. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I had already done the resolution check and also tried all the higher resolutions in Advance display settings. The square screen (actually probably 4:3) remains with black side borders, but text just got smaller. When I'm in Win7, the resolution on the monitor is 1366 x 766 (displayed on the monitor when turned on) for a full wide screen.

  15. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    What model of Nvidia graphics card do you have? Could be a compatibility issue if the card is no longer supported by Nvidia.

  16. #15
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,486
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 574 Times in 478 Posts
    You need to find and install the monitor.inf (driver) for your specific monitor from JVC, this will furnish the full range of resolutions and refresh rates for the monitor that W10 and the nVidia card will be able to access and use.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •