Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 8.1 can't see Ad Hoc network

    My fancy wifi enabled home thermostat sometimes loses connection to the router, or I get a new router and lose connection. The process is simple; press reset on the thermostat and it's radio starts it's own Ad Hoc network that I can connect to with a laptop in order to reconnect it to my home network. Never had any problems doing this until I bought a fancy new laptop running Windows 8.1. Microsoft made a change to version 8.1 where it can no longer see Ad Hoc networks. Yes, there is a long drawn out procedure you can do using various dos network commands to get connected but it's pretty cumbersome.

    Anyone find a way to force Windows 8.1 to see ad hoc networks with little to no effort?

    Luckily I had an old WinXP laprop laying around to get reconnected but if it dies I don't want to go through hoops to get it working.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    You could always use your phone to connect to the unit.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Android won't connect either without rooting it....unless you know of a way. Thx

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Joe. They both say to t=do the same thing, which is what I already found. It's a cumbersome process that I'd rather not have to do. I'd love to know why MS changed this in 8.1.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,371
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Bat file maybe?
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •