Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts

    Hey Clint, here's a new Memory Upgrade for you.....

    http://www.pcworld.com/article/29230...e-reality.html

    RAM for the rich and nerdy: 128GB DDR4 memory kits become reality

    Only $1980 for the "cheap" kit.

    Jerry

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    128GB is overkill for the vast majority of most grandpa users here...


    Anytime one upgrades to a new memory standard, like DDR4, you can expect to pay through the nose for at least the first year.
    And that'll be especially true for a double hit on a new build with a chipset and memory upgrade.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    CLiNT,

    "What we have here is...a failure to communicate!" You can't tell me you're not chomping at the bit to lay your hands on one of these after all ... you have a reputation to maintain!
    ROTFLOL.gif
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    128GB is overkill for the vast majority of most grandpa users here...
    Hey, I resemble that remark in more ways than one.

    Jerry

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Interesting since ARK says the max. the Haswell E consumer series CPUs can use is 64MB. Not that ARK hasn't been wrong before.
    http://ark.intel.com/products/82932/...up-to-3_60-GHz

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    64GB not 64MB.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    CLiNT,

    "What we have here is...a failure to communicate!" You can't tell me you're not chomping at the bit to lay your hands on one of these after all ... you have a reputation to maintain!
    ROTFLOL.gif
    I can go out and get it tomorow if I wanted too, ...if I had a workstation board. But I don't have the workstation motherboard.
    My current board ONLY handles up to 64 GB.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    64GB not 64MB.
    Yes, fine so I mistyped. Hope the distraction gives you great satisfaction. Still doesn't answer my linked observation.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,486
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 574 Times in 478 Posts
    That socket/'board isn't limited to consumer CPUs, it'll also accept Xeon E5 16** and 26** series so if the 'board was full spec., that would enable access to 768GB with a Xeon: http://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/.../HelpDesk_CPU/

  10. #10
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Thanks for the info. At the time I bought and built on the board it was somewhat more limited.

    After spending a 1000.00 on a CPU and 600.00 on memory, I'm more than content with my
    puny overclocked 8 core processor and my measly/pissy little 32 GB of RAM.

    But I was, at one time, considering building with the massive Titan card instead of the GTX 980,
    but I was reality checked by the price, at that time, if you can believe that.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2015-05-18 at 11:51.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •