Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Access 2013 over VPN

    I'm beginning to get the feeling that it isn't possible to run Access over a VPN. Unfortunately I don't speak SQL, so, I'm stuck with Access. Am I right, or is there a workable solution?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    jwoods
    Guest
    Try changing your VPN connection from TCP to UDP.

    https://social.technet.microsoft.com...ry=officeitpro
    Last edited by jwoods; 2015-05-15 at 18:23.

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Are you attempting to use a database on an external system connected via a VPN?
    Opening Access databases over WAN connections is notoriously slow and troublesome. What are you trying to achieve?

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
    I opened one the other day using TeamViewer, I am in Philippines the remote computer in Melbourne Australia.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My office is 30 miles away. I get most of my data over email. I was trying to minimize the number of times I have to drive to work. The database is split and has a backend on a shared drive.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    What is TeamViewer?

  7. #7
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by dmcminds View Post
    What is TeamViewer?
    It's a free tool (for private use) used for accessing computers remotely...

    https://www.teamviewer.com/en/index.aspx

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    I agree that a remote control session would be a much better way to go, using Windows Remote Desktop Connection or TeamViewer.

    cheers, Paul

  9. #9
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,486
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 574 Times in 478 Posts
    Winaero Tweaker enables a feature that might be useful:

    Enable TCP/IP Router

    tcp router Enable or disable Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) forwarding to use with apps like OpenVPN. By default, TCP/IP forwarding is not enabled in Windows OS.

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    From my experience, Access (any version) doesn't work particularly well over a VPN. There are exceptions, but it would have to be a really good (fast) VPN and the distances can't be too great.

    If only a couple of people are remote and need to connect to the database, then something like GoToMyPC, TeamView, etc. would work, although it requires a dedicated PC on the host side for each connection.

    If several users need to connect, then I'd suggest setting up a Terminal Server on the database side, and remote users can get in using Remote Desktop. This works extremely well.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks everybody. I have lots to explore.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •