Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger 1voyager1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Pahoa,HI
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Artifacts from Welcome/Shut down screen[s] are showing up on Desktop Wallpaper

    These lines:
    RIMG0830.JPG

    And these lines:
    RIMG0831.JPG

    Are in exactly the same place.

    They are not on the photo being used as the wallpaper.

    Anyone known what is going on with this?
    I'm concerned that this may be indicative of a larger problem that will be developing in the future.

    I'm stymied as to what and why this is happening.
    Last edited by 1voyager1; 2015-05-22 at 01:24.

  2. #2
    jwoods
    Guest
    Try changing to another theme and see if the lines are still there...

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to jwoods For This Useful Post:

    1voyager1 (2015-05-24)

  4. #3
    New Lounger 1voyager1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Pahoa,HI
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    After trying several different wallpapers some have the lines and some do not.
    With changing the images around, the lines seem to become less intense when going back to the original image.
    I have been using that particular image as a wallpaper for quite a long time now.
    These are 3840 X 1200 dual monitor wallpapers And I am using the Display Fusion app to hang them on the desktop.
    I have also been using it for quite a long time now on my dual monitors, but have never noticed the lines before now.

    I'll try many different wallpapers one after another to see if that gets rid of the artifacts, tomorrow.
    I'll get back with the results.

    And, I'm still curious as to what is at work here.

  5. #4
    jwoods
    Guest
    DisplayFusion may be a factor, as well as a video driver, or how Graphics Hardware Acceleration is set.

    Take one thing at a time to test.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to jwoods For This Useful Post:

    1voyager1 (2015-05-24)

  7. #5
    New Lounger 1voyager1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Pahoa,HI
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Not getting much of anywhere wwith this.

    After playing with this a bit, then letting the PC work on something until morning, It gave me this on a reboot:
    RIMG0833.JPG
    The lines are not as sharply defined, but more smudged looking now.
    Plus, they do not show on the desktop wallpaper except very faintly.
    Sometimes I can't find them on the desktop.
    Plus, sometimes when shutting down, and placing the cursor near the line location, a faint silhouette of the cursor will show on the shutdown screen.
    It is now obvious that they are not artifacts from the Welcome/Shutdown screens.

    My video card is a Radeon HD6700 series.
    I have upgraded Catalyst Control Center and the video drivers, also Display Fusion.
    DirectX11 will not allow settings for Hardware Acceleration to be changed, adjusted or set as far as I can determine.

    I had recently reinstalled an image of my OS on an SSD drive after doing a Secure Wipe to bring it back up to speed.
    I'm thinking about trying to reinstall the OS image tomorrow.
    I will have to redo the updates again.

    I'm still at at complete loss as to what is going on here.
    I can't help thinking that this doesn't bode well for how my PC will continue to function.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 1voyager1 View Post
    ...I'm thinking about trying to reinstall the OS image tomorrow...
    Don't rush into that.

    It is likely the gold-plated contacts on your VGA card need to be cleaned.

    The gold-plated contacts become tarnished over time, so begin to lose contact. Remove the VGA card from the PC and clean the contacts by gently and carefully rubbing with a soft white pencil rubber ("eraser" if you're a yank). Brush off any particles with a clean dry brush, then refit the card and reboot to see if you still have the display corruption.

    You might also want to clean your RAM contacts using the same method.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Coochin For This Useful Post:

    1voyager1 (2015-05-24)

  10. #7
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,371
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    It seems likely that the screen has been warped. Is the 'artifact' there at all times? Try a command prompt w/ large window and change the back ground colors to see if the 'artifact' is visible.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to wavy For This Useful Post:

    1voyager1 (2015-05-24)

  12. #8
    New Lounger 1voyager1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Pahoa,HI
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The artifact shows up on one monitor only.
    After uninstalling Display Fusion and setting the monitors to clone each other,
    I unplugging one monitor and switched from DVI port to DVI port with the one still connected.
    Then, I did the same with the other monitor.
    It is only on the one monitor and the DVI port makes no difference.

    I ran Passmark Monitor Test.
    The artifact doesn't show on any of the solid color, black or white tests.
    It does show on each of the Scale-Black + color [RGB] gradient tests and in the Contrast series of tests that also uses black and the RGB colors + white.
    It also showed up in the Printer test.
    The character of the artifact can change from a hard distinct line to a wide nebulous smudged streak and to varying degrees in between from one reboot and/or monitors being turned on/off to the next.
    It shows up in the pre-boot running of the Acronis BootCD.

    I can think of nothing that might have happened physically to the monitor to cause this.
    I'm inclined to think that the problem is in the monitor's electronics, maybe the circuit board[ ?].

    I'm thinking that I probably should move this to the Hardware forum.
    I am interested in seeing how far I can get with trying to resolve this problem.

    I like these monitors.
    They have served me well and they are nicely matched.
    I'd hate to have to go out and buy 2 new monitors just because one of them failed.

    Plus, I'm working with only 1 monitor right now.
    I really miss the real estate the other monitor adds to my desktop.
    Last edited by 1voyager1; 2015-05-24 at 02:25.

  13. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Yeah, I think you're right on it now suspecting the monitor is on the fritz. Inspect the cables and connections and swap cables for a test, even output/input formfactor if you can.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to F.U.N. downtown For This Useful Post:

    1voyager1 (2015-05-24)

  15. #10
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,371
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    I'm inclined to think that the problem is in the monitor's electronics, maybe the circuit board[


    Can't help you there, my one foray into monitor electronics did not end well

    Is it a back lit or side lit monitor?

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to wavy For This Useful Post:

    1voyager1 (2015-05-24)

  17. #11
    New Lounger 1voyager1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Pahoa,HI
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    I will be replacing them.

    After thinking and sleeping on this, I went and looked at some old reviews on my currently troubled monitors, Samsung SyncMaster 245BWs.
    They have served me well.
    I've had them for about 7 to 8 years.

    The defect really is not all that bad ... yet.
    But, it is too irritating for my everyday usage.

    I have a surveillance system that I need to get installed soon.
    I need a monitor for it.
    I can re-purpose the defective one and moth-ball the good one for a backup.

    I have ordered 2 new Dell UltraSharp U2412M monitors to replace my old Samsungs.
    They have many of the same features,
    plus probably better viewing angles, color rendition, and a few other things of importance to me.
    They are LEDs as opposed to LCDs, cost less than I paid for the Sams, and have reviews reminiscent of the reviews for the Sams.
    Other than having to shell out the cash, I consider it to be a win-win situation.

    Thank you folks for your input helping me to get this figured out.

  18. #12
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,371
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts

    Sometimes just making that decision just to let go can be a relief.


    They are LEDs as opposed to LCDs
    That would be LCDs w/ LED lighting as opposed to fluorescent .




    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to wavy For This Useful Post:

    1voyager1 (2015-05-24)

  20. #13
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,486
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 574 Times in 478 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 1voyager1 View Post
    I have ordered 2 new Dell UltraSharp U2412M monitors to replace my old Samsungs
    Good decision

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    1voyager1 (2015-05-24)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •