Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Inter-System Folder Security Problem

I've had a surprising issue crop up with RoboCopy (though I don't think RoboCopy is the actual issue here).

Here's the scenario. I've got 2 computers, a laptop running Windows XP, and a desktop running Windows 7. Since I take the laptop with me when I travel, I've adopted the habit of synchronizing the 2 system's data files using RoboCopy. It's a bit old-school but it works for me and it's comfortable. I needed RoboCopy because it's smart enough to not copy data already present on the destination system and I have a lot of data.

And it works, works fine in fact, and I've been using this system for 2-3 years.

This last time I decided to perform the synch from the Win7 desktop. And this time I got a file authority error, one I don't think I've ever seen before.
    "Access is denied."

Well, I've seen that error plenty of times, but not in this context! Oh, and the errors only occur on the "My*" folders. Therefore, My Music, My Pictures, and so forth. These are the least important folders in my work world, but the errors hold up my system synch activities. Plus they shouldn't happen at all.

Here's my RoboCopy command:
    robocopy v: c: *.* /s /e /xo /r:30 /w:5

I'm logged in to both systems, as the same user. I have a very powerful account (local Power User, not quite administrator on the network, but highly privileged).

Also, I checked the folder authority on the laptop. I used the old-school Attrib command, and the newer GUI folder Security command. Neither show any problems.

Where is the problem, and how do I fix it? And why do the errors only appear when I synchronize when driving the systems from the desktop?

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Ah, I forgot something.