Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Photoshop: Can't get it to open .JPG extension from file.

    When I double click on a .JPG file it will not open by Photoshop. It wants to use viewer.exe. I went as far as trashing viewer.exe. I have tried to change the View-->Folder-->options-->File Type. and I get a message: The extension '.JPG' is already in use by file type 'ViewerFrameClass'. Choose another extension. I also cannot find in the file types ViewerFrameClass. I have Photoshop version 4.0. HELP! I have tried everything I can think of!

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    What operating system are you running?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,753
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 652 Times in 575 Posts
    Also posted (and answered) at RetouchPRO.com: http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/pho...ension-fr.html

    Please see Rule 14.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by calebclark View Post
    ...I have Photoshop version 4.0. HELP!...
    Wish you luck w/ Photoshop v4.0.

    AFAIK Photoshop was at least v8.0 <> 2001. I suspect Photoshop v4.0 pre-dates JPG format (probably circa Win95) some time before 2000) so no wonder PS4 can't handle JPG.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    If open with won't work try using a proxy such as XnView to set Photoshop as one of the programs to open the photo in for editing. That usually works better in any case since almost all photo types are displayed in XnView and if you have more than one photo editor, you can direct a photo or multiple photos quickly to whichever editor even if it's not currently running (XnView initiates startup).

  6. #6
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Also posted (and answered) at RetouchPRO.com: http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/pho...ension-fr.html

    Please see Rule 14.
    Judging by the attempted response from another newbie to the Lounge, I suspect that the OP is a bot or tag team spam member, only here to promote crapware.

    The reply in the linked topic should fix the issue permanently.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •