Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

KeePass on Android

I've been using KeePass on my Windows PC for several years and am very content with it.
    I want to use it on an Android phone and/or Tablet; can anyone recommend a safe Android App for KeePass?
    The website showed several, but I am unsure which to use.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I use KeePass on both PC and Android. AFAIK, there are only three real choices of android apps that are compatible with KeePass PC databases: KeePassDroid, Keepass2Android, and KeepShare.

I know nothing about KeepShare other than it costs money. (There is a crippled, "Lite" version, but why bother with crippled when the other two are free and work quite well?)

I've tried both of the others and they are quite similar, though I find KeePassDroid easier to use. OTOH, that may be because Keepass2Android is arguably a little more secure.

With KPD you open the database and select an entry, and it copies the username and password to the android notification shade, where you can then copy/paste into websites or password entry boxes in other apps. K2A instead copies the credentials to its own, secure keyboard, so when you open your web browser it takes a few more steps to select the keyboard and then select the username/password to paste. It's a little less convenient, though supposedly prevents the possibility of other apps snooping on the cut/paste operation without your knowledge.

K2A comes in two flavors--one version that only opens a local db and another that will directly open cloud dbs, such as a KeePass db stored in gdrive or dropbox. The latter can be used even if you haven't installed the cloud provider's android app, because it accesses the cloud directly. OTOH, that's a slower way of getting at your stored passwords. (Of course, this assumes you have a cloud account.)