Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger artied2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Creating the "Admin" account.

    A recent WS newsletter told us how to create an "Admin" account. I did so. That's ok but now my logon screen shows that account, along with me and my wife's logon "buttons" on the logon screen. Can I just rename that account to something other than "Administrator", without messing up the system/account. I'd like to name it Zorba. (Last in alphabetical order.)

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Artied2,

    You can completely hide it from the Logon Screen. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    jwoods
    Guest
    The caveat is always create a System Restore point before making any changes to the registry.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger artied2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for that info, but I don't want to hide it. Just rename it. Can I do that?

  5. #5
    jwoods
    Guest
    No.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,733
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    Even if you could rename that account; you can rename any other account; the rename would only be "surface" appearance -- everything deep would still be the original name that any said account was created with.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger artied2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok, thanks all. This isn't a crisis per se. It's just that, before I created this "admin" account, my name was first in the logon screen order. In the morning, while I'm multi-tasking, (coffee, shoes, shave, etc.), I could just reach over and tap the "Enter" key to log on to my screen name. Now I have to actually focus on moving the mouse over to my name and "clicking". Not the end of the world, mind you. Just something I was hoping I could bring back to normal.

    Artie

  8. #8
    jwoods
    Guest
    You can...

    Command Prompt > Run as administrator

    net user administrator /active:no

    Restart system

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,631
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    Are you talking about a standard admin account or the hidden Administrator account as the latter should be disabled when not required.

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger artied2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Are you talking about a standard admin account or the hidden Administrator account as the latter should be disabled when not required.
    I'm talking about what jwoods just eluded to. From a recent WS newsletter. (Creating the deep admin account, or somesuch.)

    Quote Originally Posted by jwoods View Post
    net user administrator /active:no
    I did: net user administrator /active:yes

    I want the account, just not the logon screen name.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,631
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    You may be able to right click on it and select Rename as you can with a Desktop icon, but without checking that out myself - you will have to see (don't have time at the moment).

    If you want to keep that account active then I suggest that you give it a very strong password and make a secure note of it because if your computer is hacked, then the hacker could walk all over your machine - which is why it is disabled when not in use - there is a reason why it is normally hidden.

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger artied2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    So, if I type, (at the command prompt), "net user administrator /active:no", am I correct that the account is still there, just hidden? And I can turn it on and off as needed, at any time?

  13. #13
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by artied2 View Post
    So, if I type, (at the command prompt), "net user administrator /active:no", am I correct that the account is still there, just hidden? And I can turn it on and off as needed, at any time?
    Correct.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to jwoods For This Useful Post:

    artied2 (2015-06-11)

  15. #14
    2 Star Lounger artied2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you Mr. Woods.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •