Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts

    Windows 10 Tech Preview- Deactivation of Office 2013

    Performing an in-place upgrade to Windows 10 Tech Preview resulted in my MS Office 2013 Professional, MS Project 2013 and MS Visio 2013 (all 32-bit, all legal!) being deactivated. Anyone experienced this? (I am reluctant to go through the reactivation process in case I decide to revert to Windows 8.1 (64-bit) until the official roll-out of Windows 10). Any ideas? (I did make a full system image backup before the upgrade!!)
    Last edited by petesmst; 2015-06-05 at 09:30. Reason: Corrected typos
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Pete,

    I'm sure the Upgrade to 10 caused the activation profile to change enough that MS thought it was a new machine. I'd call MS, if you can get through, and inquire if reactivating will cause any problems if you have to revert. Although, if you restore an image all that software is already activated and THEORETICALLY shouldn't need to be reactivated. YMMV. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    @RetiredGeek: Thanks. I will contact MS, because I am a bit concerned that, although reverting to my backup image will almost certainly not require reactivation of the Office software, I might have problems down the line if I ever need to reactivate those products ("too many reactivations" is the last thing I want!!)
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    @RetiredGeek: Just a bit of feedback: I have just spoken with MS Tech Support. They did not give any reason for me experiencing this "issue" other than to state that since this is a new version of Windows, unexpected problems can arise, and I must just reactivate my Office products on line; and if I have difficulties with that, I can reactivate by telephone. I asked if they had encountered this issue before, and the reply was "no".

    I would be interested if any other Lounge members have a similar problem in the days to come.
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    I encountered it once or maybe twice on a system with an Office 365 subscription click-to-run version but not yet on a system with the MSI file install.

    Joe

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    @Joe: Thanks. Interestingly, a "Microsoft Engineer" replied as follows in the MS Forum:

    "During Office activation, the software will send information about the software and the device to Microsoft. This information includes the version, the license version, language and product key of the software, the Internet protocol address of the device and information derived from the hardware configuration of the device.

    If there is any software or hardware changes on the computer Office 2013 would prompt you for the reactivation."

    Whilst I cannot argue with him from any position of strength, I did not experience this issue when upgrading/changing my OS from Win7 to Win 8 and then to Win 8.1(??)
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Microsoft is never going to divulge the details of the formula used for activation. Therefore, it is difficult to predict what will cause re-activation and what won't.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •