Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Can't boot from other drive

    I cloned my hard drive after setting up and installing all my software on a new desktop. Then I tried to test the clone, but I can't get the machine to boot with any other drive than C.

    I used the delete key (on this system) to get into the BIOS (UEFI: American Megatrends Inc. P11-B0), changed the boot devices to make the removable drive (USB hard disk) the first boot device. Rebooted - but it went to drive C.

    I then got into the boot order menu (F12), but there is only one option:"Microsoft boot menu". No alternative offered. (I think that menu is the one we get after a system drop, where there are choices of nornal boot, safe boot, repair, etc.)
    I rebooted but that menu didn't come up; it booted nornaly into C.

    The C drive is behind the DVD burner - it would require taking the drive case apart to get to the hard drive cables to disconnect that drive, so that isn't practical.

    In any case, I can't seem to find a way to boot from the clone.

    Any suggestions or solutions will be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    jwoods
    Guest
    You may have to disable Fast Boot in the BIOS.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwoods View Post
    You may have to disable Fast Boot in the BIOS.
    Good Idea wrong place. Here's how to turn off Fast Boot.

    BTW: What software did you use to clone the drive?

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,640
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Does it show up in msconfig under the Boot tab where you can make either priority ?

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Sounds to me OP doesn't understand the difference between "clone" and "image".
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    hanged the boot devices to make the removable drive (USB hard disk) the first boot device. Rebooted
    A regular install of Windows will not boot to a USB device.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I disabled Fast Boot in the power options, rebooted, brought up the boot menu in BIOS mode - and it still had only the single option "Microsoft boot menu". No other choices.

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Does it show up in msconfig under the Boot tab where you can make either priority ?
    Here's what I have in msconfig:
    msconfig-general.JPG

    and
    msconfig-bootl.JPG

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    BTW: What software did you use to clone the drive?
    HTH
    Macrium Reflect. I had been using Acronis True Image Home 2011 (and all their earlier versions), but that version won't work with Win8. Thought I'd save the $30 upgrade and try Macrium. From a look in the cloned drive, it seems to be an exact copy.

    But that doesn't answer why I can't get a choice of what media to boot from.

  10. #10
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Good Idea wrong place. Here's how to turn off Fast Boot.
    Not quite the same thing...

    https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1005535/

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    But that doesn't answer why I can't get a choice of what media to boot from.
    Please see post #6
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    David,

    Not quite sure what the problem is but Windows WILL boot a USB device as I do it all the time with Macrium Reflect from both USB keys & USB HDs on all of my machines (Win 7 - Laptop, Win 8.1 UEFI - Secure Boot - Laptop & Desktop, Win 10 TP - Laptop) of course this in Win PE not full Windows and all the machines are Dells. I haven't tried cloning though as I prefer Images.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    A regular install of Windows will not boot to a USB device.
    Windows PE is not a problem to boot off a usb as are the install ISOs.
    If you know of a way to boot a regular install off an usb please tell me. I know about windows-to-go but that is an enterprise thing. Most of what I have seen involves some non transparent (to me) hacks and executables to d/l and run.

    anyway back on topic

    , changed the boot devices to make the removable drive (USB hard disk) the first boot device. Rebooted - but it went to drive C.
    The OP could not boot off of a windows install cloned to an usb HDD.
    Never works for me. The same drive on eSATA boots just fine
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •