Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger amflores's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Posts
    216
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Problem with SP1 after a re-install

    Recently I had to make a non-destructive re-install of Win7 Home Premium (32bits).
    My original Win7 DVD doesn't include Service Pack1, which was supposed to be installed later during a routine update.
    In fact, on the first update after the re-install it was listed to be installed.
    What called my attention was the size of the SP1 Windows 7 Service Pack 1 (KB976932): only 17.2MB
    I tried the update, but it failed.
    I thought maybe I still had traces of SP1 left from an old install, so I tried to remove it using the prompt command wusa /uninstall /kb:976932. DId not find it on my system.
    How can I get a copy of this Win7 SP1?

    I welcome any help.

    Regards,
    Flores
    Both me and my Windows edition speak brazilian portuguese.

  2. #2
    jwoods
    Guest

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,584
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    You can download it from Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (KB976932). Click the download button. Then select the version with x86 in the name which is about 537MB.

    Joe

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,621
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 877 Times in 839 Posts
    I think Flores is talking about a bootable SP1 ISO rather than the SP1 package.

  5. #5
    jwoods
    Guest
    See the link in post #2

    An ISO is one of the options...

    Win 7 SP1.jpg

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,621
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 877 Times in 839 Posts
    @ jwoods - They are for the actual SP1 Windows Update and not a Win 7 install ISO that includes SP1

    The image file size for Win 7 x64 SP1 is 3.09GB and ~2.38GB for the 32 bit version.

    Perhaps I could have been clearer in what I meant in my previous post.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-06-11 at 04:03.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger amflores's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Posts
    216
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    For those above (Sudo15, jwoods, and JoeP517)that are helping me,

    My original Win7 (32bits) Home Premium disk, probably an early edition, came without the SP1.

    SP1 was added to my system later on regular up date.

    So, when I need, and I need now, to make a non-destructive reinstall (already made several), the first thing I need to do is to remove the SP1, and then reinstall from my disc. (Look for Fred Langa's famous article on the Web)

    SP1 will be added to my system later, on regular up date.

    The ideal for me would be a bootable Win7 (32 bits) Home Premium disk that already includes SP1.
    My ignorance asks if this bootable image disk will accept my original license key.

    Thanks for the help you people are giving me.

    Flores
    Both me and my Windows edition speak brazilian portuguese.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,621
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 877 Times in 839 Posts
    The COA sticker key may not work if it isn't the same as the computer vendor's generic key, if you are using an OEM machine or you have upgraded to Win 7.

    Belarc Advisor will list your product keys and then you can compare the 5x5, 25 character key Belarc gives with the COA sticker key on the machine.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-06-11 at 09:28.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    Sr(a). Flores,

    Get your .iso file from here, using the serial number from Belarc:

    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-recovery

    Note that "Brazilian" and "Portuguese" are different language choices.

    Zig

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,621
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 877 Times in 839 Posts
    Unless it is a bought retail key, it will not validate for the download.

    Neither OEM COA sticker or vendor's generic keys will work and I'm not sure if those ISOs include SP1.

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger amflores's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Posts
    216
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello Zig,

    Thanks for the help.

    Brazilian Portuguese is almost the same portuguese.
    The pronunciation is the main difference,.

    Regards,
    Flores (Mr)
    Both me and my Windows edition speak brazilian portuguese.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •