Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    USB LAN versus Hard-Wired

    Hope someone can advise us on this... we just moved to a different home. Still Time-Warner. Our desktop in was hard-wired in the old place and it performed great (we have the most expensive Time-Warner service).

    When the installer came to setup the new place he said he didn't want to drill lots of holes in the walls in order to give us hard-wired service for the desktop so he instead installed a USB LAN (I hope that's the correct term - it's a tiny device that looks like a zip-drive and it sits in one of our USB ports).

    Interestingly, he installed the router upstairs, rather than next to the desktop (downstairs). The desktop does show "5 bars".

    He said the performance is about the same as hard-wired, and so far it looks almost as fast as what we used to have (The TW Speed test shows 21.43 Download Speed and that is a lot slower than the 50+ we had at the old place).

    I'm tempted to ask them to come back and drill the holes so we can get back to 100%, but my wife would prefer the no-hole approach.

    Any advice would be very welcome, thanks!

    Alan
    Last edited by AlanB1; 2015-06-11 at 07:38.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,365
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    The cable guys never seem to be good at cabling, an electrician would do a neater job but you pay for it. I would want to get the bandwidth I am paying for, depending on usage maybe you could downgrade and at least pay less.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to wavy For This Useful Post:

    AlanB1 (2015-06-11)

  4. #3
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,721
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    I think what you are referring to as a USB LAN is actually a wifi dongle. If you're finding it slower than ethernet (hard-wiring) you could always try a powerline. This gives a connection through your mains wiring. I resorted to this when my desktop's wifi card gave up the ghost. As I'm in the UK I can't recommend anything but the Wikipedia entry might give more info - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power-line_communication.

    Others in the States on the forum could give advice about what might be good and what to avoid.

    Just one more thing, if you go for this option then get a pass through one; this means you don't lose a socket as there's a socket on the adapter.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to access-mdb For This Useful Post:

    AlanB1 (2015-06-11)

  6. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    If i might add, I use a Wireless adapter that is not much larger than the nano-receivers included with wireless mice, don't protude more than about 3/8 of an inch. Do be sure that the Router and any Wireless adapters are all rated the same to get the best speed of the LAN, use those rated at 802.11n or 802.11ac [the latest]. The speed of the LAN will usually be at the rate of the slowest device. Older Notebook have 802.11g adapters but if needing more LAN speed they can be disabled in the BIOS and then make use of the faster USB Wireless dongle. A suggestion [one of which I usually keep on hand]:
    http://airlink101.com/products/adapter.php

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Berton For This Useful Post:

    AlanB1 (2015-06-12)

  8. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Not drilling holes is also faster and less hassle (lazy installer?).

    The USB dongle will potentially be slower than a dedicated wireless card unless it's a USB3 dongle and your PC has USB3. Something like this might be better: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833320071

    cheers, Paul

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    AlanB1 (2015-06-12)

  10. #6
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,365
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Something like this might be better: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833320071
    and only $13 today! And a real antenna !!


    you could always try a powerline.
    +1 for the Powerline adapter, just be aware of potential problems if used across different electrical circuits. Don't throw away the box before testing.
    Last edited by BruceR; 2015-06-12 at 09:32. Reason: Fixed link in "quote"
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  11. #7
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,721
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    In the UK we have what are called consumer units. The powerline works if the sockets are all going to the same CU. If it's via another CU (we have one in an outside shed) than it won't work. Luckily I don't plan on running my PC in that shed (unless the tortoises living in it demand internet access!). That's why I suggested US guys on here could suggest solutions as I don't know how your power things work.

  12. #8
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,484
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked 572 Times in 476 Posts
    Alan, what makes you think the new home will have the same download speed as the old one?

    Better to get a wired connection hooked up to the router and test what the download/upload speed really is before spending money.

  13. #9
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,720
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 124 Times in 121 Posts
    Wifey and I "buried" a 100-ft ethernet cable from den to bedroom, snaking it underside furniture, rugs, and so on. Would something similar be an option for you in your UK home?
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  14. #10
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,721
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Roland, I always though North Carolina is in the US not the UK...

  15. #11
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,365
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Roland, I always though North Carolina is in the US not the UK...
    I think it used to be ... but its falling behind.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  16. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    I'm confused.

    comment removed because I am no longer confused.

    THe guy installed a wifi adapter in your upstairs---you should have shoved him out the window.
    Last edited by Fascist Nation; 2015-06-13 at 14:04. Reason: removed question

  17. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    I would agree with snaking an Ethernet line if you can.

    If not than the Powerline suggestion is a good one. Very unlikely the home is on two separate powerlines.

    http://computer.howstuffworks.com/power-network.htm

    http://www.newegg.com/Powerline-Netw...ategory/ID-294
    Last edited by Fascist Nation; 2015-06-13 at 14:17.

  18. #14
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,365
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Very unlikely the home is on two separate powerlines.
    Well I certainly disagree with that! Do you have an electric range? Mostly 2 phase. Central Air?
    Not gonna work if it is on a different phase.
    Lots of other things could interfere. Just be sure it can be returned.

    Not a bad idea just be cautious.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  19. #15
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,365
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    you should have shoved him out the window.
    I'd hope you would have properly composted him/her.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •