Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    New Lounger
    Thanks

Cannot Install Programs from Drive D:\

This is the oddest problem I have run across and it certainly kept our IT folks scratching their heads until we figure out the problem and a workaround. I am putting this up thinking someone may know how to actually solve this.

I have a Dell M6800 with a 256GB SSD boot drive and a 1TB SSD data drive. Being a developer I need the space. To take as much load off of the boot drive as I can, I relocated all of my personal folders (My Picture etc) to the D: drive. I set my TMP and TEMP environment variables to point to D: as well. All of this lives in a folder called C_DATA. The boot drive is encrypted with BitLocker the D drive is not.

My download folder for Chrome and IE is set to D:\C_DATA_Documents\Downloads. I also will often install programs to the D:\ drive if the installer gives me that chance. Tuesday I went to load an evaluation of a commercial package and it would not install. The error was that the file could not be written to <Destination>. So if I ran a msi or exe to install from my downloads folder it always failed. I checked permissions. Tried running as the administrator (even though I am in the admin group). After hours of fighting with it, the answer is, install from C: and everything is fine. If the file resides on C: I can install to C: or D: no problem. If the file resides on D: no can install.

As I was digging around I noticed that my Downloads folder no longer has the Location tab in Properties. I am suspicious of some sort of a permissions issue. Anybody got any ideas why I cannot relocate Downloads and why I cannot install from drive D:?

Thanks,
    Doug

jwoods
    In Disk Properties > Security > Advanced > Owner, the owner should be TrustedInstaller.

The following accounts should have full privileges...

SYSTEM
    Administrators

Read & execute, List Folder Conents, Read

Users

Special Permissions

Authenticated Users

jwoods