Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    How to install Desktop Speakers?

    This is from a novice... hope someone can help...

    Just got a pair of inexpensive speakers for the desktop PC. One has red, black, and white cables. The red and black are "twinned" together, and they connect to the other speaker.

    I assumed the white cable must connect to the desktop PC and I plugged it into the rear of the desktop, in the middle of the 3 vertical (red, white, green) connectors. (Not sure it belongs there, and it does seem awfully loose).

    The speakers power on, but no sound (the volume is way up).

    What the heck have I done wrong?

    Thanks for any advice!

    Alan

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    723
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 146 Times in 132 Posts
    The one to plug your speakers into is usually green. It may also be marked with a headphones symbol or be labelled ‘Audio out’.

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Calimanco For This Useful Post:

    AlanB1 (2015-06-12),Fascist Nation (2015-06-13)

  4. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Sometimes the audio config is not correct on the PC.
    Run Control Panel and go to Hardware > Sounds/Audio config.

    cheers, Paul

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    AlanB1 (2015-06-12)

  6. #4
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    "awfully loose" suggests it's plugged into the wrong output socket, a 3.5mm stereo connection should be snug with a positive click feel in the last 1/16". Do you have the make/model# for the speakers?

  7. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks!

    CP indicates "SPEAKERS REALTEK HIGH DEFINITION AUDIO NOT PLUGGED IN" (I do have one of the wires plugged into the middle - green - in the rear of the desktop.)

    I'm sure I'm doing something dumb here, but I can't find another "available" cord from the speakers (i.e. - there are only 3 coming out from the rear of the "master" speaker, and 2 of those are "twinned" together and go to the second speaker, and that leaves only the one remaining wire).

    I'm ATTACHING a shot of the rear of the "master" speaker, and also one of the rear of the desktop. As you may note, the cable into the back of the desktop seems loose (and it's loose in all 3 of the available ports).

    Thanks for your help and your time!

    AlanSPEAKERS 2.jpg[SPEAKERS.jpg

  8. #6
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,729
    Thanks
    148
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    What make are the speakers? If we know the make we might be able to suggest what's wrong. That plug is not the correct one for the PC - it's a phono plug (IIRC) like the ones plugged into the speaker. Were there any other cables with the speakers (check the box!)?

  9. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Looks to me like you have an RCA plug in a 2.5 stereo socket, so it's never going to work. Your speakers seem to have RCA inputs so you need a stereo 2.5 to RCA cable like this one.
    tw21.jpg
    http://www.cablematic.co.uk/ref/TW21...FSPItAodc3wAgQ

    cheers, Paul

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    AlanB1 (2015-06-12)

  11. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi All,

    Many thanks for all for all the very helpful and prompt replies... Much appreciated!

    Clearly, I somehow wound up with the wrong white wire. After examining it, I can now see it's the same type as the red/black one. I cannot explain its origin

    These are inexpensive no-name speakers so I guess I will look for a replacement that has the correct wires.

    Thank you all again for the help!


    Alan

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •