Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts

    FileHippo App Manager

    I have used FileHippo App Manager for years without any problems, but now instead of opening the updates page it opens a setting page. This happens with version 1.47 and the beta version 2. Uninstalling ands reinstalling makes no difference.

    Does anyone have a solution?

    Please advise.

    Thanks and regards, Roy
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,720
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 124 Times in 121 Posts
    Yeah, me too; I really liked using FileHippo App Manager in the past, I think an elephant stomped a mudhole into it -- hopefully, someday soon, another FAM will arise from the ashes and succeed.
    Last edited by RolandJS; 2015-06-12 at 11:30.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    717
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    I have the same thing, suggesting a meltdown at the server end. FilePuma is a similar program, although it covers a slightly different spectrum of programs.

    http://www.filepuma.com/

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    I just look at Filepuma. I'll not have an issue using it based upon Glary Utilities not having a bad reputation. I've given up on Download.com/CNET after getting garbage included with some downloads. So far, for me anyway, Majorgeeks has been clean.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Have you tried the latest 2.0 beta? I just installed it and it goes to the "My Apps" page when I open it.

    Joe

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    717
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    Tried it. New look. Unable to hide betas on a permanent basis though. It resets after every start.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Not working for me, either

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Joe, I did try the beta and it doesn't work for me.
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    I downloaded a fresh copy of the installer for version 1.47, ran it and this time it worked.

    The program is now working properly in Win 7 and Win 10 IP.
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •