Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    How to Remove "Phantom" Printers

    Had a call from a friend this weekend, who was having problems with printing from his desktop PC. Went over yesterday to take a look, and found when he tries to print, the dialog box is defaulting to an HP LaserJet which he doesn't have (his printer is an OfficeJet). Went to Printers and Devices, and there are no LaserJets showing there. Went to Programs and there is no software installed for anything but his OfficeJet. Where would Windows have this phantom printer info stored, and how do I get rid of it?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    Had to look this one up

    As a workaround, right clicking on the current printer in Devices and Printers and making that one the default should do it, but came across this article for a better clean out of the drivers. http://theitbros.com/remove-windows-...rinter-driver/

    While the article doesn't say so in the Alternative Method, you normally have to reboot to effect registry changes.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-06-15 at 07:27.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Had to look this one up

    As a workaround, right clicking on the current printer in Devices and Printers and making that one the default should do it, but came across this article for a better clean out of the drivers. http://theitbros.com/remove-windows-...rinter-driver/

    While the article doesn't say so in the Alternative Method, you normally have to reboot to effect registry changes.
    The OfficeJet they have IS set as the default printer, which is why I was puzzled about this. But the registry edit in the link you gave me solved the problem. Thanks for the help.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    Glad that helped and thanks for the update.

    You can use the Thread Tools dropdown to Mark this thread as Solved.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •