Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: No twin here.

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts

    No twin here.

    I run three machiness here, in the boonies. I ignore how many of the W-10 users do more then one. I find that even if all three run 10130 still, the install was different. First, the one Toshiba laptop has accepted a PIN to the lock screen, the other Toshiba and my HP desktop adamantly refuse to get set to a PIN. Two Toshiba lappies, one HP desktop.

    At times, one machine, never the same, will accept an update, the others will not. I have all three set to the Fast cycle ! Go search !

    The end result is that they all perform to my liking and these little aberrations are really just that, nothing major.

    Edit : The HP desktop is 64-bitness, the laptops are 32. Any difference should there be ?

    Edit-2 On 10147 now and it seems to have accepted a PIN.

    All best wishes, Jean.
    Last edited by handcuff36; 2015-06-21 at 16:50.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,435
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Yoda,

    32 be there differences bits! Be otherwise there no.
    ROTFLOL.gif
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Watch out, Geek, I am looking for a way to get even. J.

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    On my Powerhouse PC, the one I call the "HAL 9000" I'm currently downloading a single copy of 10147 that claims to be both 32 bit and 64 bit compatible.

    I guess I'll find out when I go to install it. Eh?
    I'll try it first on my very old Dell Laptop. It's all 32 bit.
    Right now, 10122 is running great on it.

    Happy Trails, Jean!

    Last edited by DrWho; 2015-06-21 at 17:47.
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Yes, Wayne. I also read that this version is bi-bitness capable. I already have it installed on my HP desktop and as for you, it runs great. I am now copying the .iso to a HCSD USB medium so I can do both Toshiba and save on the ISP allowed bandwidth.
    I will tell you a secret, this 10147 does not want you to use anything else but MS stuff. It took me > 1 hour to get Google back up and running the way that I am used to, the machine only allowed Spartan or Mail. Yes, I could use both of them but they did not show my list of Favorites. I can understand the philosophy here at MS but this is MY machine and I will use it at will. This 10147 had removed all inklings of Google. 1 for me, 0 for MS.

    This is for you as I think that RGeek would not be able to follow this thread. See, I got even ! ( not really ).

    Have a great day. Jean.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Wayne, did you get this supposedly bi-bitness .iso to install on your 32-bit machine ? It could not here.

    I see that there is the 32-bit version now. Getting it.

    All best wishes. Jean.
    Last edited by handcuff36; 2015-06-22 at 10:25.

  7. #7
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Yoda,

    32 be there differences bits! Be otherwise there no.
    ROTFLOL.gif
    Sure enough, 64-32=32 I'm sure Jean appreciated the math

    I see we a talking leaked Builds, again.

    I, still feel the Forum should stick to NON-leaked Builds. Generally don't want to point 'the public' to them... kinda sends the wrong message. Heck in another IT Forum I read of someone grabbing Builds from bloody uTorrent. Geeesh!

    Jean, where are the "boonies" you mention?

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Attachment 43811

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Drew, hello.

    Would you believe : 47° 34' 22.24 N & 069° 51' 39.20 W and the trout are crazy for my flies.

    Version 10147 runs fine when one gets the proper bitness. Try it, you will like it. All best wishes. Jean.

  9. #9
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Found it, Jean. Have driven through the area often when younger; really pretty part of our Country.

    Kewl suggestion, maybe, but, I'll just wait for the next Build Fast Track receives; whatever its #.

    Enjoy the fishing.

    I'm quite enjoying 10130 for now. Might be 1 more before the GA. All is ok except I want to see a lot of changes & additions, more work done on Edge. It's solid (stable) & fast but, lacks certain functional stuff. It, certainly, never 'hangs' like IE. Some sites do work fully on it but, that is more their fault than Edge's; of course, they still, have 5 wks to be compatible. Received a Nvidia update today that announced in big bold letters Windows 10 Driver

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Attachment 43815

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •