Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,604
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts

    Win7 repair install failed: Not enough free space

    I was checking out a Win 7 x64 SP1 universal install disk on a Toshiba laptop with a repair install when it got almost to the end, it gave me the error as the thread title.

    Toshiba split the HDD down the middle with just 8 - 9GB in the Recovery partition and on this laptop the HDD total is 340GB.

    Windows C: has 58.5GB free of 116GB which I would have thought was more than ample or would it need more than 50% free ?

  2. #2
    jwoods
    Guest
    Hard to say, but this article by Scott Hanselman at Microsoft is helpful in finding different ways to free up disk space...

    http://www.hanselman.com/blog/GuideT...rWindows7.aspx

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,604
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    I normally keep a pretty clean ship, but would have thought that 58.5GB free of 116GB would have been ample for the repair install to complete.

    Now that the weekend is over, thought I'd give this thread a Bump to see if anyone else has a take on this.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Sudo,

    Did it give any indication of what Partition was out of free space? Just a thought but it may not be the C: partition to which it is referring? HTH
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2015-06-22 at 20:56.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2015-06-23)

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Most likely it is not the C:\ partition. Would it make sense to enlarge the recovery partition to above 15 GB?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,604
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    Thanks for the replies, guys.

    It just said that it couldn't complete because of insufficient space on the HDD.

    I have managed to clean out some stuff, although I didn't realize it amounted to ~5GB so may give it another go, although I intend to do a clean install and get rid of the Recovery partition in preparation for Win 10.

    As I don't know how to sort out the partitions, I'll get my brother to start that off me nearer the time.

    Anyway, this is my diskmgmt.msc -

    TmsDM.PNG
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-06-23 at 04:29.

  8. #7
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,484
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked 572 Times in 476 Posts
    Anything in the C:\Windows\setuperr.log?

  9. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,604
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    Anything in the C:\Windows\setuperr.log?
    I only have Setup listed in Windows and the last entry in that is for 2009.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,484
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked 572 Times in 476 Posts
    Anything in C:\Windows\Panther with the correct modified date that might have the scratch directory listed?

    Has to be some clue somewhere...

  11. #10
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,150
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 305 Times in 265 Posts
    @ Sudo15

    The "Disk Management" screenshot you posted shows values I would not expect.

    I.e.: Disk 0 Part.1 400MB "Healthy (Active, Recovery Partition)" seems strange since "% Free" column says "100%". Freespace on Part.2 (C:\) is 63.57GB (of 116.21GB) which should be several times more than required to allow a repair-reinstall of Win7 SP1. Also, 400MB seems way too small to allow a recovery to factory defaults.

    "Active" would usually apply to whichever partition contains either the bootloader or the installed operating system. In your case you seem to have only Win7 on the HDD, so I wonder what real purpose the Disk 0 Part.1 400MB "Healthy (Active, Recovery Partition)" serves?
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Coochin For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2015-06-23)

  13. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,604
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    I've found setuperr in Panther but it's dated the 5th of this month which is before I tried the repair install.

    I can't see what's in it as double clicking on it got me the Access Denied and sending it to Docs just gave me an empty Notepad window.

    @ Coochin - I always thought that 400MB partition was the Boot sector ? - initially I think it was only 100MB.

    When I tried the repair install, the free space was 58.5GB which I thought should still have been sufficient.

    Edit - I've just realized why I got an empty Notepad file - the size of setuperr is 0 KB.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-06-23 at 05:35.

  14. #12
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,150
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 305 Times in 265 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    ...@ Coochin - I always thought that 400MB partition was the Boot sector ?...
    No Tom, "bootsector" is a special file stored within each Windows NTFS partition. There is a backup copy of "bootsector" stored in each such NTFS partition, which can be restored in certain circumstances using programs such as "TestDisk" (see http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk)

    Note: TestDisk might not work w/ Windows versions above Win7 SP1.

    Normally your computer will try to boot to the OS in whichever partition is set "Active". Which is why I wondered about your "Disk 0 Part.1" being set "Active".

    I would have expected (in your case) "Disk 0 Part.2 "Active" (to boot Win7).
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Coochin For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2015-06-23)

  16. #13
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,484
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked 572 Times in 476 Posts
    It's active because it's bootable from the Tosh BIOS/bootloader option to run their repair/testing tools, it's also possible that the filesystem used by Tosh isn't readable by Windows, thus the 100% free marker.

  17. #14
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,150
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 305 Times in 265 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    It's active because it's bootable from the Tosh BIOS/bootloader option to run their repair/testing tools, it's also possible that the filesystem used by Tosh isn't readable by Windows, thus the 100% free marker.
    All due respect but your feedback doesn't help much satrow.

    Sudo15 tried a Win7 repair-reinstall on a laptop that would seem to have sufficient space on C:\ (63.57GB) yet he was returned "insufficient disk space".

    Presumably Sudo15 was trying to reinstall to the C:\ partition?
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  18. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,604
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    Yes, the repair install was for C: and at the time the free space was showing as 58.5GB.

    I'm on my other Tosh now and as you can see, the DM is similar -

    BrDM.PNG

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •