Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    BootMgr, where are you....

    I've got Win7 Ult, and it has been good for years until this week. I have tried every solution with Bootrec and EasyBCD (even the purchased program) and even reinstalled C drive from a back up--no go.

    HOWEVER, the weird thing is if I do a repair with WIN7 install/repair disk, and then reboot but leave the disk in and NOT reload the repair function--just let it time-out and go to the HD, I get a successful WIN 7 running. Fully functional with no seen problems. (If I take the disk out and reboot, "Bootmgr missing".) If I create a restore point, and try to reboot without the recovery disk..."Bootmgr missing". I start all over and use advance system tools, restore and the restore point is missing.
    I hope someone out there can solve this thing because WIN10 is still a month away.

    Thanks for any help,
    Ron

  2. #2
    jwoods
    Guest
    I would suggest a nondestructive re-install...

    http://windowssecrets.com/top-story/...ive-reinstall/

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Ron,

    Did you only reinstall C: from the backup or did you also restore the hidden partitions? The boot manager is not on C:.
    hiddenparts.JPG
    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    rpinsc (2015-06-22)

  5. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I'll try this post again...I tired to make sure of what I backup by looking at my external drive with Acronis, and it only showed C: and System Reserved, and under SR is Boot. I remember at least 3 areas that I recovery, and possible 4. It was late last night.Disk Mang.JPG

  6. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I did stay up half the night doing this, and it didn't change anything. I should have figured that out before staying up. Non-destructive re-install will only re-install and not change partitions, or MBR.
    Thanks anyway

  7. #6
    jwoods
    Guest
    Try the free MiniTools Partition Wizard...

    http://www.partitionwizard.com/free-...n-manager.html

    Otherwise, you may need a more high-powered tool like BootIt Bare Metal...

    https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/bootit-bare-metal.htm
    Last edited by jwoods; 2015-06-22 at 04:28.

  8. #7
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,150
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 305 Times in 265 Posts
    @ rpinsc

    I see something strange in the screenshot in your #4 post.

    It shows the first partition ("System Reserved") on "Disk 0" as "Active", yet also shows "Disk 3 J I:" as "Active".

    I am wondering about "Disk 3 J I:". Since it is "Active" it may well be interfering with your boot process.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Coochin For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2015-06-23)

  10. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I too finally saw, and remove "Active" from that drive. That certainly did something, but now when I boot up without the Recovery disk, the error msg reads something like system drive can't loaded (or something like that-I'm out of town) and I have to insert the Recovery disk/Installation disk and let it re-boot again. I still don't use the Recovery process, just let it boot, see it, and it goes to Win7. I hate to think of a clean re-install, and then upgrade to 10. Win10 has been no problem on two other computers, and especially when I upgrade by doing a clean install.

    Thanks to all who tried to help.

    Ron

  11. #9
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Have you tried re-creating the boot information using BCDBOOT?
    1. Boot from recovery CD and open Command Prompt.
    2. Make sure Windows is installed on C: by typing: dir C:
    3. Make sure Windows is installed in C:\Windows by typing: dir C:\Windows\explorer.exe
    4. Create the boot info by typing: bcdboot c:\windows /v

    Make an image backup before doing this, obviously.

    cheers, Paul

  12. #10
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,150
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 305 Times in 265 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    ...Make an image backup before doing this, obviously...l
    Actually I think there should be a further step:

    5. Reboot the computer (Start/Shutdown/Restart)
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •