Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Black Screen issue with my desktop

    Hello,

    I have a desktop that when I plug it to any screen doesn't display anything although I tested the RAM and HD and cleaned them

    Board model is P5PE-VM

    it has 1 GB of RAM and 500 GB of Hard

    any suggestions ?

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    sorry for the misunderstanding I should have said ( no display at all ) there's power but no picture.

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    It sounds like your integrated video has died.
    1. Reset the BIOS to factory defaults.
    2. Get an AGP video card to plug in to the mobo.

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    It sounds like your integrated video has died.
    1. Reset the BIOS to factory defaults.
    2. Get an AGP video card to plug in to the mobo.

    cheers, Paul
    how to reset the BIOS if I can't see what's on the screen ( is it by removing the small battery ) I think already did that.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,602
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 847 Times in 809 Posts
    Do you get any output in Safe Mode or do you have to plug into a different VGA port for the on board graphics ?

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am not getting an output at all from the on-board VGA port

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,602
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 847 Times in 809 Posts
    I'm more into laptops than desktops and when you boot up into Safe Mode on those, that isolates the main graphics and uses the on board VGA in lower res. as perhaps it would if you had an AGP card fitted ?

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,147
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 302 Times in 263 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fadi19 View Post
    I am not getting an output at all from the on-board VGA port
    From your OP "Board model is P5PE-VM".
    That motherboard is very old now.
    Suggest you need to upgrade to a new PC.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    If the issue is with the motherboard and not just the video section you will have to replace the whole lot anyway, so it may be time to buy a new computer.
    (It's always time to buy a new computer. )

    cheers, Paul

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fadi19 View Post
    .... I tested the RAM and HD....
    How did you test the RAM and HDD without a display?

    Does anything show on the display? Does a box pop up saying something like "no signal" or something? That is ... is the display not working or is there no video output?

    If there is no messages on your display, with the PC booted up disconnect the video cable from the back of the PC. A "no signal" box should pop up on the monitor.

    If is does not then the monitor has failed, the AC/DC powering the monitor has failed, there is no wall power to the AC/DC converter or the video cable has failed. If you do get a "no signal" message on the monitor then video output has failed.

    I agree, that MB uses an long obsolete AGP video slot. If video has failed, it is time to buy a new PC or box. An AGP card would not be worth buying.

    If you currently have an AGP card present--it sounds like you are using onboard video though--then you could remove the card and try moving the video cable from the card to the MB's VGA port and use onboard video (may need Intel video driver) for the time being. Intel 800 series onboard graphics is not that terrible, but it would only buy you some time while you await a new box.

    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/P5PEVM/
    Last edited by Fascist Nation; 2015-06-23 at 12:29.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •