Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Star Lounger
    Thanks

Recommend web-design programs?

I did my due diligence and looked through the previous posts, but I'd like to ask a slightly more focused question. I have far too many years in the development world (I'm one of those who started out with Hollerith cards and paper tapes) but escaped a half-dozen years ago. In other words, I have some coding experience -- but all in languages that are either obsolete (Assembler, COBOL, FORTRAN) or out of the mainstream (multi-value data base BASIC varieties). For what it's worth, I'm comfortable with command line operations in both Windows and UNIX (so, presumably, LINUX).

I need to put together a web site for my business (a personal one, as well, but that's less imperative -- the specifications will be roughly the same). The site(s) will be fairly static, aside from a blog page, with absolutely no animation (this is an accounting business, after all). In other words, fairly simple. While I can code in HTML and CSS if I must, I'd rather not spend the time struggling through the process of becoming competent. I'm looking for a good, low- or no-cost WYSIWYG web page editor, BUT -- it must allow me to use my own choice of hosts, which rules out at least 90% of the ones I've looked at. I can't afford to pay a developer (the ones with reasonable prices seem to be the ones that insist on holding the sites close and not allowing owner maintenance).