Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,480
    Thanks
    135
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Snippet Software

    I am looking for free software to use to copy and paste a screen shots


    It would be appreciated if someone will kindly advise me where to obtain this

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,348
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 344 Times in 299 Posts
    "Snipping Tool" is built into Windows and is very good.

    Start/All Programs/Accessories/Snipping Tool

    Hold down the left mouse button, drag a box around the area of the screen you want to copy, then release the mouse button.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    Confuscius said: "no use running harder if you're on the wrong road" and "any problem once correctly understood is already half-solved".

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,628
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 985 Posts
    You can also choose to snip a window or free form.
    If you need a timed snipper to collect menu items etc, try Irfanview.

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,466
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 218 Times in 185 Posts
    Hi HowardC,
    There is a free tool built into your keyboard, it's called Print Scr (Screen) then paste it into 'Paint'.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,480
    Thanks
    135
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Thanks for all your input

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,731
    Thanks
    395
    Thanked 1,533 Times in 1,390 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    If you need a timed snipper to collect menu items etc, try Irfanview.
    You can capture popup menus using the Snipping Tool by:
    1. Start an area capture.
    2. Press: Esc.
    3. Display the desired menu.
    4. Press Ctrl+PrtScr.
    5. Outline your selection as normal.


    Sample:
    SampleCapture.JPG
    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    access-mdb (2015-06-26),BHarder (2015-06-26),lumpy95 (2015-06-26)

  8. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,628
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 985 Posts
    How did you work that out? (You didn't read the manual did you!?)

    cheers, Paul

  9. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,731
    Thanks
    395
    Thanked 1,533 Times in 1,390 Posts
    Paul,

    I'll never tell I'd loose all my GEEK cred!
    ROTFLOL.gif
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2015-06-26 at 16:31.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  10. #9
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    2,069
    Thanks
    304
    Thanked 214 Times in 176 Posts
    Good tip RG

  11. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,628
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 985 Posts
    Capturing a snip of a menu
    1. After you open Snipping Tool, open the menu that you want a picture of.
    2. Press Ctrl+PrtScn.
    3. Tap or click the arrow next to the New button, choose the kind of snip you want, then pick the area of the screen that you want to capture.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/w...#1TC=windows-8

    cheers, Paul

  12. #11
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    2,069
    Thanks
    304
    Thanked 214 Times in 176 Posts
    Looks like the directions are a little different between win 7 & 8.

  13. #12
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,891
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 179 Times in 172 Posts
    Both methods work on my 8.1. But RG gets the thanks as he was first. Just another example of windows software having more than one way to skin a cat...

  14. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,977
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,129 Times in 989 Posts
    Check out Greenshot.

    Joe

  15. #14
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    2,069
    Thanks
    304
    Thanked 214 Times in 176 Posts
    Win 10 is going to have a better snipping tool.
    http://www.cnet.com/how-to/windows-1...tag=CAD1acfa04

  16. #15
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,731
    Thanks
    395
    Thanked 1,533 Times in 1,390 Posts
    Lumpy,

    Obviously the author didn't RTFM!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •