Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    New Lounger 1voyager1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Pahoa,HI
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unable to connect to Internet after power outages and other problems

    >>> 2 of my 4 HDDs disappear from WinExp, Disk Manager and my partition manager app.

    To be honest, I don't know if this is a Windows, hardware [UPS, router, motherboard, ?] or ...[?] problem.
    Although, Windows is my prime suspect.

    We seem to have a high number of power outages around here.
    The last few times that my PC was running when there was a power outage, after restarting it could no longer make a connection to the internet.
    The wi-fi cable router would seem to be operating as it should.
    The network troubleshooter ends up simply stating that "Your DNS server might be unavailable", not a lot of help.
    I have only been able to get my I-net connection back by re-installing then last image of my OS partition.

    The last couple of times this has happened, I have also "lost" 2 of my 4 HDDs.
    They are not found by anything that should be seeing them, even after the old OS image is re-installed.
    But, after playing around with it a while, along with several reboots, they finally show up again.

    I'm getting very fed up with having to deal with this repeatedly.
    I'm close to starting all over again with a clean install of Windows to see if that will get rid of the problem.

    Does this situation sound familiar to anyone?
    Any suggestions as to how to deal with this to stop it from happening again?

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    That sounds like data corruption in both Windows and your PC BIOS due to the power outage. Have you reset the BIOS to factory defaults?

    If you have lots of power outages get yourself a UPS that will last a couple of hours and set up the auto-shutdown software that goes with it.

    cheers, Paul

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    1voyager1 (2015-06-28)

  4. #3
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 1voyager1 View Post
    ...I have only been able to get my I-net connection back by re-installing then last image of my OS partition.

    The last couple of times this has happened, I have also "lost" 2 of my 4 HDDs.
    ..
    Sorry, not enough details re problem.
    How are the "lost 2 of my 4 HDDs" connected to the computer?
    What computer? Desktop? Laptop? Model number?
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Coochin For This Useful Post:

    1voyager1 (2015-06-28)

  6. #4
    New Lounger 1voyager1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Pahoa,HI
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your responses.

    Data corruption sounds like a real possibility of being the cause of all these problems.
    My PC is on a UPS.
    On one power outage, I was away from the computer.
    The UPS ran down and shut down by the batteries running out, not an auto-shutdown.
    All the other power outages, I was in the saddle at the time, and did a manual shutdown after closing and saving everything.

    The BIOS is not at default settings.
    But, after the last outage and after resetting many the BIOS settings related to booting and drives, the lost drives did come back.
    Although, I'm not sure that's what brought them back.

    I've just added the following to my signature, but cannot see it yet:

    UPS: APC BN600
    MoBo: ASUS P8Z77-V
    CPU: i7 3770k
    RAM: 16GB Kingston HyperX
    PS: OCZ ZT750W
    HDDs: 240GB SSD; 3X 2TB; +2X 2TB installed but not hooked up yet.
    Video: XFX Radeon HD6770
    Monitors: 2X Dell U2412M

    The drives that get "lost" are the 2X 2TB drives with F:/G: and H: partitions on them.

    I just had a thought.
    This problem has begun since we had a 4KW solar PV system installed last November.
    We are on grid so the PV installation also shuts down when the grid power goes out.
    Every time I loose the ability to connect to the I-net, I was online at the time of the outage.

    Now, M'Lady was also on line for most of those outages.
    It has not affected her PC with the same MoBo and OS but different other parts.
    Last edited by 1voyager1; 2015-06-26 at 17:40.
    UPS: APC BN600
    MoBo: ASUS P8Z77-V
    CPU: i7 3770k
    RAM: 16GB Kingston HyperX
    PS: OCZ ZT750W
    HDDs: 240GB SSD; 3X 2TB; +2X 2TB installed but not hooked up.
    Video: XFX Radeon HD6770
    Monitors: 2X Dell U2412M

  7. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    If you shut down your PC and then had problems with drives missing, then the issue is probably not related to the power outages, unless you still have corruption from a previous outage.
    Are you sure your power supply is up to the job running all your components? Install a motherboard monitor like CPUID HWmonitor or SpeedFan and check the voltages.

    cheers, Paul

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    1voyager1 (2015-06-28)

  9. #6
    New Lounger 1voyager1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Pahoa,HI
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Paul,
    After my last post my I-net connection was lost again.
    This time while I as online, no power outage involved.

    I have been wrestling with both the lost I-net connection and the lost drives ever since.
    I'm now convinced this is not a Windows but a hardware problem centered on a SATA controller and a network connection.
    It seems that it might be a corrupt driver problem.
    I'm going to reinstall all of the MoBo drivers after downloading the updates for them.
    If that doesn't cure the problems I'll start this all over again in the Hardware forum where it belongs.

    I ran HWMonitor.
    Nothing looked to be out of line.
    I have been a bit concerned that the PS might not be up to its job.
    I'll look further into it after the MoBo drivers are updated.

    EDIT:
    Plugging my system into this PS calculator:
    http://www.extreme.outervision.com/p...ulatorlite.jsp

    With OCing to 4.2GHz @1.30v, 90% usage and 35% cap degradation, plus the 2 HDDs that are not hooked up, I get a recommended minimum of 604W.
    The 750W PS should be powerful enough for my needs.
    I would think.

    Thanks folks for your input on this.
    Last edited by 1voyager1; 2015-06-29 at 20:30. Reason: Update info
    UPS: APC BN600
    MoBo: ASUS P8Z77-V
    CPU: i7 3770k
    RAM: 16GB Kingston HyperX
    PS: OCZ ZT750W
    HDDs: 240GB SSD; 3X 2TB; +2X 2TB installed but not hooked up.
    Video: XFX Radeon HD6770
    Monitors: 2X Dell U2412M

  10. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    Manufacturers fudge their figures so your 750W PS may only be 700W, but still plenty for your system, assuming it's working as it's designed.

    cheers, Paul

  11. #8
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    I read 3 reviews last night that all gave very good write ups to this PSU, even if it was topping out at 600W, it should still be capable of running the specs of the PC described, which would be very unlikely to draw more than 350-375w in normal usage.

    What those reviews don't/can't rule out is some weakness/fault that develops over time, maybe an inability to supply the power for the drive startups (could be ~15W per drive) quickly enough for the BIOS detection routine.

    EDIT: How about a test specific for that scenario - hold the PC in the BIOS for ~20 seconds and then press the ~Reset button for a full boot?

    The disconnect issue might be unrelated, can you check/turn on logging and look for errors that occur a short time before the disconnects? Setup the router for NTP so that the time stamps are accurate for your location.
    Last edited by satrow; 2015-06-29 at 06:20.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    1voyager1 (2015-06-30)

  13. #9
    New Lounger 1voyager1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Pahoa,HI
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    I think I've found the culprit behind all these problems

    I spent most of yesterday's indoor time updating and cleaning up an older OS image to replace the version in use.
    Things seemed to work just fine.
    Then, last night I connected to my VPN.
    It seemed to become unstable.
    This morning on starting up I only had 2 HDDs along with a network adapter problem:
    01 - Drives Missing.jpg
    There should also be 2 Hitachi drives listed below the Seagate drive.
    I'm not sure how a network adapter relates to a HDD loss, but there does seem to be a relationship.
    Before reworking the new OS install, the network adapter was definitely connected to the I-net loss.
    This time around, my I-net connection was not lost at any time.

    On a reboot I get this alert:
    02 - After Reboot.jpg

    Drives were not available until a second reboot.

    These are two of the several alerts I've been getting throughout the problems I've been having.
    In checking around, I find that with Win7, the VPN's software has some DNS issues when improperly shut down.
    Luckily, my VPN subscription runs out in a week or two.
    I'll look for another that doesn't have those problems.
    Last edited by 1voyager1; 2015-06-29 at 20:15.
    UPS: APC BN600
    MoBo: ASUS P8Z77-V
    CPU: i7 3770k
    RAM: 16GB Kingston HyperX
    PS: OCZ ZT750W
    HDDs: 240GB SSD; 3X 2TB; +2X 2TB installed but not hooked up.
    Video: XFX Radeon HD6770
    Monitors: 2X Dell U2412M

  14. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    Have you tested it with the VPN turned off?

    cheers, Paul

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    1voyager1 (2015-06-30)

  16. #11
    New Lounger 1voyager1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Pahoa,HI
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, I would think that the fact that I've had no sign of these problems since the last ones at this morning's start up might be a good indicator.
    I've been online off and on all day doing email, placing orders for purchases, chasing information and so on, but not using the VPN to do so.
    Everything has been running smoothly.
    Now that I've said that, everything will probably fall apart in the next few seconds.
    If it does, the VPN may not be the source of the problem.

    I've been considering a change in VPN providers anyway.
    This has been the best one I've used so far, but I'm still not completely satisfied with it.
    I will continue the search for the best one I can find.

    M'Lady takes off day after tomorrow for her annual pilgrimage back to the East Coast to visit her mother, kids and sibs.
    I'll become a geographical bachelor for the next 3 weeks.
    I'll take some time to decide which one to start up when I get back home after I drop her at the airport.

    Thanks.
    UPS: APC BN600
    MoBo: ASUS P8Z77-V
    CPU: i7 3770k
    RAM: 16GB Kingston HyperX
    PS: OCZ ZT750W
    HDDs: 240GB SSD; 3X 2TB; +2X 2TB installed but not hooked up.
    Video: XFX Radeon HD6770
    Monitors: 2X Dell U2412M

  17. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    One thing nice to download and after installing is Tweaking.com freeware Windows repairer. Run it in Safe Mode F8 at boot up, cures more ills than you can think of.

  18. #13
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    I would not bother with such utilities, stick with Windows FixIt if you have a problem.

    cheers, Paul

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    1voyager1 (2015-07-05)

  20. #14
    New Lounger 1voyager1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Pahoa,HI
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry for disappearing for the last few days.
    But, I've had other things to deal with, and have been playing with this a bit more, trying to get a better feel for what's going on.

    I have a number of OS images beginning with a basic install of Win7 with the MoBo drivers and utilities,
    then progressing through the installation of drivers for add-ons and peripherals,
    then progressing through the installation of the apps I use,
    and finally a few reference images made because of problems I have had before resetting back to an earlier image.

    It appears that uninstalling and no longer using the VPN software cures the inability to connect to the I-net.
    But, the problems with the network adapter and the "loss" of the drives is still there no matter which OS image I install.
    This is so with images that have worked very well for over two years.
    These particular problems have begun and grown over the last month or two.

    I'm beginning to be fairly certain that this is a MoBo problem with a SATA III module and a network adapter.
    If I'm right, I want to get it figured out soon.
    I'm a little over 2 years into my 3 year warranty.
    I thinking this would be better served if moved over to the Hardware forum rather than pursuing it here in a Windows flavor forum.

    It'll be a bit before I get it moved over there.
    I want to gather some more info about this and try to organize it.
    I'm still open to thoughts anyone might have here, though.
    I'll continue to monitor this thread.
    Thanks folks for your input so far.
    UPS: APC BN600
    MoBo: ASUS P8Z77-V
    CPU: i7 3770k
    RAM: 16GB Kingston HyperX
    PS: OCZ ZT750W
    HDDs: 240GB SSD; 3X 2TB; +2X 2TB installed but not hooked up.
    Video: XFX Radeon HD6770
    Monitors: 2X Dell U2412M

  21. #15
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Drives not found = not enough juice available early in boot to start all the drives simultaneously? Possible test: start the PC from cold and immediately enter the BIOS, wait for 10-20 seconds before hitting the Reset button on the PC's case (or Ctrl/Alt/Del) and allow it to reboot into Windows, check for drives.

  22. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    1voyager1 (2015-07-05),Fascist Nation (2015-07-03)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •