Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

JSON format and VBA

This is brand new territory, so basically I am asking for directions at this stage.

The next phase of my project requires "communication" to log into and send data and numbers to a server.
    The data and numbers are from my project, this I can do and have ready, in excel or a txt file.

But, the company that has that provision for their customers to automate a method via their own means,
    ( Excel etc) uses JSON format.
    The entire script is provided publicly for whoever needs to use it.
    My question is, does the company's server script in JSON format, does this go into VBA Module, or is there more to develop in another type of program that is not Excel VBA, but "talks" with JSON format ?
    To Illustrate,
    As a retired motor mechanic by trade, this would be termed as a "Adaptor Plate" if one wants to use a Ford Gearbox on a GMH motor.

So, do I need a "adaptor plate" program between Excel VBA and JSON format to log into their server ?

Hope this makes sense.

Thanks

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks
    JSON is a data format, like CSV. You either write code to export in the format or use add-ins etc.
    This page has it in a VBA module: http://www.rwardell.com/rtw/projects/emitxml.htm
    This page has an online converter: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...t-data-to-json

cheers, Paul

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

XPDiHard (2015-07-25)

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Here is some additional material that may be of use to generate Json from Excel: http://ramblings.mcpher.com/Home/excelquirks/json
    Rui
    -------
    R4

5. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

XPDiHard (2015-07-25)

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks Paul T
    I checked out the links, it has xml and stuff I am not familiar with, but thank you.